Ross County: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Geg Capital Limited. In the year to May 2025 Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited reported turnover of £6m.
- Registered name
- ROSS COUNTY FOOTBALL CLUB (1998) LIMITED
- Company number
- SC171034
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 30 December 1996
- Registered office area
- Inverness
- Industry code on the register
- 85510: Education
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to May 2025, filed 28 February 2026
What does Ross County do?
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited runs Ross County, a professional football club founded in 1929 and based in Dingwall. The club plays at the Global Energy Stadium and earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship, merchandise and matchday hospitality. It also runs an academy, community programmes and a supporters' membership scheme, drawing its support from across the Highlands.
In brief: professional football club · Dingwall, Highlands · tickets, hospitality and sponsorship · founded 1929
Source: Ross County's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.
Who owns Ross County?
The Companies House register records Geg Capital Limited as the person with significant control of Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited, company number SC171034. Geg Capital Limited is itself company number SC520044.
That places Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Ross County?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited.
All 3 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Roderick James Macgregor | 29 January 1998 |
| James Donald Macdonald | 20 March 2013 |
| Jia Kelly Mackenzie | 25 January 2024 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Ross County file?
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited reported turnover of £6m in the year to May 2025. That was up 5.5% on £6m the year before.
It reported 85 employees. The year before it reported 78.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.4m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £0.5m the year before.
Staff costs came to £4m. That is an average of £52,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.1m at the bank and net assets of £3m.
| Measure | May 2025 | May 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £6m | £6m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£0.4m (filed) | -£0.5m (filed) |
| Employees | 85 | 78 |
| Staff costs | £4m | £4m |
| Average staff cost per head | £52,000 | £57,000 |
| Bank and cash | £0.1m | £0.1m |
| Net assets | £3m | £3m |
Read the accounts to May 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Ross County?
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited has registered 8 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 4 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 22 September 2022 |
| Highland Prospect Limited | 26 March 2001 |
| The Scottish Sports Council | 16 October 2000 |
| Carlsberg-Tetley Alloa Limited | 27 January 1999 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Ross County files as Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited, whose person with significant control is Geg Capital Limited, with turnover of £6m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Ross County
What does Ross County do?
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited runs Ross County, a professional football club founded in 1929 and based in Dingwall. The club plays at the Global Energy Stadium and earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship, merchandise and matchday hospitality. It also runs an academy, community programmes and a supporters' membership scheme, drawing its support from across the Highlands.
Who owns Ross County?
The Companies House register records Geg Capital Limited as the person with significant control of Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited.
How much does Ross County make?
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited reported turnover of £6m in the year to May 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.4m.
How many people work at Ross County?
Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited reported 85 employees in the year to May 2025.
Who runs Ross County?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Ross County Football Club (1998) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC171034, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Ross County: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/ross-county/. Figures from Companies House filings for ROSS COUNTY FOOTBALL CLUB (1998) LIMITED (SC171034).
More from Spark Intel
Company profile
Formula One Group: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mercedes F1: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McLaren: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks