PolyAI: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
PolyAI Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to January 2026 it reported turnover of £18m.
- Registered name
- POLYAI LIMITED
- Company number
- 11048129
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 6 November 2017
- Registered office area
- West London
- Industry code on the register
- 62012: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to January 2026, filed 7 June 2026
What does PolyAI do?
PolyAI builds voice assistants that answer customer service phone calls for businesses, using artificial intelligence to hold natural conversations, handle routine requests and pass harder calls to staff. Its customers include hotels, restaurants, banks, retailers and utilities, which pay to use its platform for their call centres. The company was founded in London in 2017 by researchers from the University of Cambridge's conversational AI lab.
In brief: voice AI · customer service calls · platform fees · Cambridge research roots
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: poly.ai.
Who owns PolyAI?
PolyAI Limited, company number 11048129, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs PolyAI?
The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for PolyAI Limited.
All 7 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Nikola Mrksic | 6 November 2017 |
| Tsung-Hsien Wen | 8 January 2018 |
| Emily Walsh | 9 June 2022 |
| Bruce Armstrong | 9 June 2022 |
| Mr. Ian William Osborne | 22 April 2024 |
| Francesca Porter | 27 January 2025 |
| Tara Stokes | 12 October 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did PolyAI file?
PolyAI Limited reported turnover of £18m in the year to January 2026. That was up 50.8% on £12m the year before.
It reported 252 employees. The year before it reported 159.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £43m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £20m the year before.
Staff costs came to £34m. That is an average of £133,000 a head. It ended the year with £51m at the bank and net assets of £47m.
| Measure | Jan 2026 | Jan 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £18m | £12m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£43m (filed) | -£20m (filed) |
| Employees | 252 | 159 |
| Staff costs | £34m | £23m |
| Average staff cost per head | £133,000 | £142,000 |
| Bank and cash | £51m | £36m |
| Net assets | £47m | £34m |
| Interest received | £1.1m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.6m |
Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
PolyAI files as PolyAI Limited, with turnover of £18m in its latest filed year.
Questions about PolyAI
What does PolyAI do?
PolyAI builds voice assistants that answer customer service phone calls for businesses, using artificial intelligence to hold natural conversations, handle routine requests and pass harder calls to staff. Its customers include hotels, restaurants, banks, retailers and utilities, which pay to use its platform for their call centres. The company was founded in London in 2017 by researchers from the University of Cambridge's conversational AI lab.
Who owns PolyAI?
PolyAI Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does PolyAI make?
PolyAI Limited reported turnover of £18m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax loss of £43m.
How many people work at PolyAI?
PolyAI Limited reported 252 employees in the year to January 2026.
Who runs PolyAI?
The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for PolyAI Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from PolyAI Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 11048129, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “PolyAI: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/polyai/. Figures from Companies House filings for POLYAI LIMITED (11048129).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the UK AI companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Google DeepMind: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Darktrace: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Quantexa: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks