Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

PizzaExpress: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Pizzaexpress Limited. In the year to December 2024 PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited reported turnover of £362m.

£362m
Turnover, down 1.2%
-£10m
Pre-tax profit
7,845
Employees
Registered name
PIZZAEXPRESS (RESTAURANTS) LIMITED
Company number
02805490
Status
Active
Incorporated
31 March 1993
Registered office area
Uxbridge
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 23 September 2025

What does PizzaExpress do?

PizzaExpress is a chain of pizza restaurants that opened its first pizzeria in Soho, London, in 1965. Most of its money comes from its own restaurants in the UK and Ireland. It also sells its dough balls, dressings and pizzas in supermarkets and offers delivery, and it has restaurants in other countries. It runs live music venues too.

In brief: pizza restaurant chain · own restaurants · supermarket range · started in Soho

Source: PizzaExpress' own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns PizzaExpress?

PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited
PizzaExpress · company 02805490
Pizzaexpress Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Pizzaexpress Limited as the person with significant control of PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited, company number 02805490. Pizzaexpress Limited is itself company number 01404552.

That places PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs PizzaExpress?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Mandeep Kaur Sandhu21 October 2021
Paula Jane Mackenzie6 June 2022
Mandeep Kaur Sandhu6 April 2024
Colin David Elliot13 January 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did PizzaExpress file?

PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited reported turnover of £362m in the year to December 2024. That was down 1.2% on £367m the year before.

It reported 7,845 employees. The year before it reported 8,709.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £10m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £6m the year before.

Staff costs came to £129m. That is an average of £16,000 a head. It ended the year with £55m at the bank and net assets of £983m.

Dec 2024£35.65£63.35£2.67 loss
Dec 2023£35.98£65.77£1.75 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£362m£367m
Pre-tax profit-£10m (filed)-£6m (filed)
Employees7,8458,709
Staff costs£129m£132m
Average staff cost per head£16,000£15,000
Bank and cash£55m£61m
Net assets£983m£991m
Interest paid£13m
Interest received£10m
Directors' pay£0.8m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against PizzaExpress?

PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited has registered 13 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
U.S. Bank Trustees Limited28 May 2025
U.S. Bank Trustees Limited (As Security Agent)20 July 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

PizzaExpress files as PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited, whose person with significant control is Pizzaexpress Limited, with turnover of £362m in its latest filed year.

Questions about PizzaExpress

What does PizzaExpress do?

PizzaExpress is a chain of pizza restaurants that opened its first pizzeria in Soho, London, in 1965. Most of its money comes from its own restaurants in the UK and Ireland. It also sells its dough balls, dressings and pizzas in supermarkets and offers delivery, and it has restaurants in other countries. It runs live music venues too.

Who owns PizzaExpress?

The Companies House register records Pizzaexpress Limited as the person with significant control of PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited.

How much does PizzaExpress make?

PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited reported turnover of £362m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £10m.

How many people work at PizzaExpress?

PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited reported 7,845 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs PizzaExpress?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from PizzaExpress (Restaurants) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02805490, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “PizzaExpress: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/pizzaexpress/. Figures from Companies House filings for PIZZAEXPRESS (RESTAURANTS) LIMITED (02805490).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings