Paddy Power and Betfair: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Flutter Entertainment Plc. In the year to December 2024 Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited reported turnover of £1,374m.
- Registered name
- POWER LEISURE BOOKMAKERS LIMITED
- Company number
- 03822566
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 10 August 1999
- Registered office area
- West London
- Industry code on the register
- 92000: Gambling and betting activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 5 August 2025
What does Paddy Power and Betfair do?
Paddy Power and Betfair are betting brands offering sports betting and gaming, with Paddy Power also running high street betting shops and Betfair operating a betting exchange where customers bet against each other. They make money from the betting margin on sportsbook bets, commission on winning exchange bets and the house edge on casino games. Paddy Power was founded in Dublin in 1988 and Betfair in London in 1999. Both brands are owned by Flutter Entertainment.
In brief: betting · sportsbook, exchange and gaming · betting shops · owned by Flutter
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: paddypower.com.
Who owns Paddy Power and Betfair?
The Companies House register records Flutter Entertainment Plc as the person with significant control of Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited, company number 03822566. Flutter Entertainment Plc is itself company number 00016956.
That places Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Paddy Power and Betfair?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Edward Martin Traynor | 24 September 2015 |
| Jeremy Peter Jackson | 24 February 2020 |
| Kevin Francis Harrington | 13 December 2023 |
| Christina King | 1 July 2024 |
| Alan Clarke | 3 November 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Paddy Power and Betfair file?
Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited reported turnover of £1,374m in the year to December 2024. That was up 11.4% on £1,233m the year before.
It reported 2,946 employees. The year before it reported 2,990.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £151m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £146m the year before.
Staff costs came to £173m. That is an average of £59,000 a head. It ended the year with £106m at the bank and net assets of £606m. It paid dividends of £100m.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £1,374m | £1,233m |
| Pre-tax profit | £151m (filed) | £146m (filed) |
| Employees | 2,946 | 2,990 |
| Staff costs | £173m | £215m |
| Average staff cost per head | £59,000 | £72,000 |
| Bank and cash | £106m | £8m |
| Net assets | £606m | £602m |
| Dividends paid | £100m | |
| Interest paid | £14m | |
| Interest received | £14m | |
| Directors' pay | £3m |
Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Paddy Power and Betfair?
Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Wilmington Trust (London) Limited | 29 April 2024 |
| Sukru Demir | 3 June 2009 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Paddy Power and Betfair files as Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited, whose person with significant control is Flutter Entertainment Plc, with turnover of £1,374m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Paddy Power and Betfair
What does Paddy Power and Betfair do?
Paddy Power and Betfair are betting brands offering sports betting and gaming, with Paddy Power also running high street betting shops and Betfair operating a betting exchange where customers bet against each other. They make money from the betting margin on sportsbook bets, commission on winning exchange bets and the house edge on casino games. Paddy Power was founded in Dublin in 1988 and Betfair in London in 1999. Both brands are owned by Flutter Entertainment.
Who owns Paddy Power and Betfair?
The Companies House register records Flutter Entertainment Plc as the person with significant control of Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited.
How much does Paddy Power and Betfair make?
Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited reported turnover of £1,374m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £151m.
How many people work at Paddy Power and Betfair?
Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited reported 2,946 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs Paddy Power and Betfair?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 03822566, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Paddy Power and Betfair: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/paddy-power-and-betfair/. Figures from Companies House filings for POWER LEISURE BOOKMAKERS LIMITED (03822566).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the bookmakers: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks