Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed September 2025

Oxa: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Oxa Autonomy Ltd has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2024 it reported turnover of £3m.

Oxa's turnover growth in these accounts is well out of line with the year before. That usually points to a one-off, such as a gain or dividend from inside the group or an acquisition, rather than trading. The figures are shown as filed; the full accounts at Companies House explain what is behind them.

£3m
Turnover, up 289.4%
-£74m
Pre-tax profit
390
Employees
Registered name
OXA AUTONOMY LTD
Company number
09242359
Status
Active
Incorporated
30 September 2014
Registered office area
Oxford
Industry code on the register
62090: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 25 September 2025

What does Oxa do?

Oxa is an Oxford company that develops software for self-driving vehicles, letting commercial vehicles such as buses, delivery vans and industrial vehicles drive themselves. It makes money by licensing its autonomy software and related tools to vehicle makers and fleet operators, focusing on business uses such as logistics, public transport and industrial sites rather than private cars. It began in 2014 as Oxbotica, a spin-out from the University of Oxford's robotics research, founded by Paul Newman and Ingmar Posner.

In brief: self-driving software · commercial and industrial vehicles · software licensing · Oxford spin-out

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: oxa.tech.

Who owns Oxa?

Oxa Autonomy Ltd, company number 09242359, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Oxa?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Oxa Autonomy Ltd.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Clive Gerald Scrivener30 September 2014
Dr Paul Michael Newman30 September 2014
Julia Steyn9 September 2024
Kevin Rodrigues22 May 2025
Alistair Andrew Carlyle McCreadie31 December 2025
Gary Martin Steven31 December 2025
Ip2ipo Services Limited31 December 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Oxa file?

Oxa Autonomy Ltd reported turnover of £3m in the year to December 2024. That was up 289.4% on £0.8m the year before.

It reported 390 employees. The year before it reported 318.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £74m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £42m the year before.

Staff costs came to £65m. That is an average of £166,000 a head. It ended the year with £30m at the bank and net assets of £37m.

Dec 2024£2088.45£416.80£2405.32 loss
Dec 2023£3975.41£1420.12£5295.53 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket; where it ends in an arrow the costs run past £200. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£3m£0.8m
Pre-tax profit-£74m (filed)-£42m (filed)
Employees390318
Staff costs£65m£32m
Average staff cost per head£166,000£99,000
Bank and cash£30m£75m
Net assets£37m£80m
Interest paid£2k
Interest received£2m
Directors' pay£0.8m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Oxa?

Oxa Autonomy Ltd has registered 2 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Oxa files as Oxa Autonomy Ltd, with turnover of £3m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Oxa

What does Oxa do?

Oxa is an Oxford company that develops software for self-driving vehicles, letting commercial vehicles such as buses, delivery vans and industrial vehicles drive themselves. It makes money by licensing its autonomy software and related tools to vehicle makers and fleet operators, focusing on business uses such as logistics, public transport and industrial sites rather than private cars. It began in 2014 as Oxbotica, a spin-out from the University of Oxford's robotics research, founded by Paul Newman and Ingmar Posner.

Who owns Oxa?

Oxa Autonomy Ltd has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Oxa make?

Oxa Autonomy Ltd reported turnover of £3m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £74m.

How many people work at Oxa?

Oxa Autonomy Ltd reported 390 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Oxa?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Oxa Autonomy Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Oxa Autonomy Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 09242359, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Oxa: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/oxa/. Figures from Companies House filings for OXA AUTONOMY LTD (09242359).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings