Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed August 2025

Musselburgh Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Musselburgh Racecourse Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Chester Race Company Limited. In the year to December 2024 Musselburgh Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £5m.

Musselburgh Racecourse has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£5m
Turnover, down 7.0%
-£0.7m
Pre-tax profit
18
Employees
Registered name
MUSSELBURGH RACECOURSE LIMITED
Company number
12456512
Status
Active
Incorporated
11 February 2020
Registered office area
Chester
Industry code on the register
93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 7 August 2025

What does Musselburgh Racecourse do?

Musselburgh Racecourse is a racecourse in Musselburgh, East Lothian, where racing has been held since 1816. It stages flat and jumps racing, with fixtures including the New Year's Day raceday, the Scottish Cheltenham Trials, the Scottish Sprint Cup and the Edinburgh Cup. The course sits on Musselburgh Common Good Land, East Lothian Council owns its facilities such as the grandstands and stables, and Chester Race Company has managed it since July 2020. It earns money from racedays, hospitality, membership and events.

In brief: racecourse in East Lothian · racing since 1816 · flat and jumps · managed by Chester Race Company since 2020

Source: Musselburgh Racecourse's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Musselburgh Racecourse?

Musselburgh Racecourse Limited
Musselburgh Racecourse · company 12456512
Chester Race Company Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Chester Race Company Limited as the person with significant control of Musselburgh Racecourse Limited, company number 12456512. Chester Race Company Limited is itself company number 00037600.

That places Musselburgh Racecourse Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Musselburgh Racecourse?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Musselburgh Racecourse Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Marco John Garavello11 February 2020
Marco John Garavello11 February 2020
John Sullivan O'Doherty5 May 2021
Louise Adele Stewart1 March 2022

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Musselburgh Racecourse file?

Musselburgh Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £5m in the year to December 2024. That was down 7.0% on £6m the year before.

It reported 18 employees. The year before it reported 19.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.7m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £0.3m the year before.

Staff costs came to £0.9m. That is an average of £53,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.7m at the bank and net assets of £0.3m.

Dec 2024£17.78£95.29£13.06 loss
Dec 2023£17.19£77.67£5.14 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£5m£6m
Pre-tax profit-£0.7m (filed)£0.3m (filed)
Employees1819
Staff costs£0.9m£1.0m
Average staff cost per head£53,000£52,000
Bank and cash£0.7m£0.3m
Net assets£0.3m£0.9m
Interest received£13k

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Musselburgh Racecourse?

Musselburgh Racecourse Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Bank of Scotland PLC17 September 2020

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Musselburgh Racecourse files as Musselburgh Racecourse Limited, whose person with significant control is Chester Race Company Limited, with turnover of £5m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Musselburgh Racecourse

What does Musselburgh Racecourse do?

Musselburgh Racecourse is a racecourse in Musselburgh, East Lothian, where racing has been held since 1816. It stages flat and jumps racing, with fixtures including the New Year's Day raceday, the Scottish Cheltenham Trials, the Scottish Sprint Cup and the Edinburgh Cup. The course sits on Musselburgh Common Good Land, East Lothian Council owns its facilities such as the grandstands and stables, and Chester Race Company has managed it since July 2020. It earns money from racedays, hospitality, membership and events.

Who owns Musselburgh Racecourse?

The Companies House register records Chester Race Company Limited as the person with significant control of Musselburgh Racecourse Limited.

How much does Musselburgh Racecourse make?

Musselburgh Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £5m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.7m.

How many people work at Musselburgh Racecourse?

Musselburgh Racecourse Limited reported 18 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Musselburgh Racecourse?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Musselburgh Racecourse Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Musselburgh Racecourse Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 12456512, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Musselburgh Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/musselburgh-racecourse/. Figures from Companies House filings for MUSSELBURGH RACECOURSE LIMITED (12456512).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings