Accounts to May 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed February 2026

Motherwell: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The) has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to May 2025 it reported turnover of £7m.

£7m
Turnover, up 21.4%
-£0.3m
Pre-tax profit
231
Employees
Registered name
MOTHERWELL FOOTBALL AND ATHLETIC CLUB LIMITED (THE)
Company number
SC005702
Status
Active
Incorporated
30 September 1904
Registered office area
Motherwell
Industry code on the register
93120: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to May 2025, filed 24 February 2026

What does Motherwell do?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited owns Motherwell FC, a professional football club founded in 1886 and based at Fir Park. Supporters can become part-owners by joining the Well Society, the club's fan ownership group. The club earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship and merchandise, and hires out Fir Park for conferences, weddings and other events. A community trust runs its local programmes.

In brief: professional football club · Lanarkshire · fan ownership · founded 1886

Source: Motherwell's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Motherwell?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The), company number SC005702, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Motherwell?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The).

All 6 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Brian Douglas Caldwell29 April 2024
David James Lindsay29 April 2024
Professor, Dr Grant Jarvie5 November 2024
Kyrk Macmillan5 November 2024
Greg Crawford Anderson5 November 2024
David Macfarlane26 August 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Motherwell file?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The) reported turnover of £7m in the year to May 2025. That was up 21.4% on £6m the year before.

It reported 231 employees. The year before it reported 220.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.3m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £0.4m the year before.

Staff costs came to £6m. That is an average of £25,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.6m at the bank and net assets of £5m.

May 2025£78.38£23.76£3.61 loss
May 2024£77.10£29.99£7.09 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMay 2025May 2024
Turnover£7m£6m
Pre-tax profit-£0.3m (filed)-£0.4m (filed)
Employees231220
Staff costs£6m£5m
Average staff cost per head£25,000£21,000
Bank and cash£0.6m£0.9m
Net assets£5m£5m
Interest paid£0.1m
Interest received£14k
Directors' pay£0.2m

Read the accounts to May 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Motherwell?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The) has registered 12 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
The Well Society Limited10 November 2016

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Motherwell files as Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The), with turnover of £7m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Motherwell

What does Motherwell do?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited owns Motherwell FC, a professional football club founded in 1886 and based at Fir Park. Supporters can become part-owners by joining the Well Society, the club's fan ownership group. The club earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship and merchandise, and hires out Fir Park for conferences, weddings and other events. A community trust runs its local programmes.

Who owns Motherwell?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The) has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Motherwell make?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The) reported turnover of £7m in the year to May 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.3m.

How many people work at Motherwell?

Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The) reported 231 employees in the year to May 2025.

Who runs Motherwell?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The). The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Motherwell Football and Athletic Club Limited (The)'s filings at Companies House, company number SC005702, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Motherwell: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/motherwell/. Figures from Companies House filings for MOTHERWELL FOOTBALL AND ATHLETIC CLUB LIMITED (THE) (SC005702).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings