Accounts to September 2024 · Group accounts · Filed February 2025

Marston's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Marstons PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to September 2024 it reported turnover of £899m.

Marston's has filed accounts for the year to 27 September 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 28 September 2024. It will update when they are.

£899m
Turnover, up 3.0%
£14m
Pre-tax profit
10,362
Employees
Registered name
MARSTONS PLC
Company number
00031461
Status
Active
Incorporated
14 May 1890
Registered office area
Wolverhampton
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Latest accounts
Year to September 2024, filed 24 February 2025

What does Marston's do?

Marston's runs pubs across England and Wales, selling food and drink in community locals, family dining pubs and pubs with rooms. It manages some pubs directly and runs others through franchise, lease and tenancy agreements, earning money from sales and rents. The company traces its roots to Burton upon Trent in 1834, is based in Wolverhampton and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: pub group · managed and franchised pubs · food and drink · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: marstons.co.uk.

Who owns Marston's?

Marstons PLC
Marston's · company 00031461
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Marstons PLC, company number 00031461, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Marston's?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Marstons PLC.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Bridget Lea1 September 2019
Octavia Kate Morley1 January 2020
Bethan Wheatley1 February 2022
Nicholas John Varney1 July 2022
Justin Mark Platt10 January 2024
Rachel Claire Elizabeth Osborne23 January 2024
Kenneth Lever8 July 2024
Stephen Robert Hopson8 September 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Marston's file?

Marstons PLC reported turnover of £899m in the year to September 2024. That was up 3.0% on £872m the year before.

It reported 10,362 employees. The year before it reported 12,292.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £14m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £21m the year before.

Staff costs came to £210m. That is an average of £20,000 a head. It ended the year with £46m at the bank and net assets of £655m.

Sep 2024£23.33£63.22£1.60 profit
Sep 2023£24.43£77.94£2.37 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureSep 2024Sep 2023
Turnover£899m£872m
Pre-tax profit£14m (filed)-£21m (filed)
Employees10,36212,292
Staff costs£210m£213m
Average staff cost per head£20,000£17,000
Bank and cash£46m£30m
Net assets£655m£640m
Interest paid£107m
Interest received£1.4m
Directors' pay£2m

Read the accounts to September 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Marston's?

Marstons PLC has registered 10 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC, 1 Churchill Place, London, E14 5HP (As Trustee for Each of the Secured Parties)3 May 2023
Barclays Bank PLC, 1 Churchill Place, London, E14 5HP (As Trustee for Each of the Secured Parties)2 May 2023
Marston's Trustees Limited (As Trustee of the Marston's PLC Pension and Life Assurance Scheme)27 March 2017
The Scheme Trustees25 August 2005
Hsbc Trustee (C.I.) Limited24 August 2005

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Marston's files as Marstons PLC, with turnover of £899m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Marston's

What does Marston's do?

Marston's runs pubs across England and Wales, selling food and drink in community locals, family dining pubs and pubs with rooms. It manages some pubs directly and runs others through franchise, lease and tenancy agreements, earning money from sales and rents. The company traces its roots to Burton upon Trent in 1834, is based in Wolverhampton and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Marston's?

Marstons PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Marston's make?

Marstons PLC reported turnover of £899m in the year to September 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £14m.

How many people work at Marston's?

Marstons PLC reported 10,362 employees in the year to September 2024.

Who runs Marston's?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Marstons PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Marstons PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00031461, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Marston's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/marstons/. Figures from Companies House filings for MARSTONS PLC (00031461).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings