LW Theatres: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
LW Theatres Group Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Lw Entertainment Limited. In the year to June 2025 LW Theatres Group Limited reported turnover of £180m.
- Registered name
- LW THEATRES GROUP LIMITED
- Company number
- 03987955
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 8 May 2000
- Registered office area
- West-Central London
- Industry code on the register
- 70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to June 2025, filed 24 February 2026
What does LW Theatres do?
LW Theatres owns and runs West End theatres, including Theatre Royal Drury Lane and The London Palladium, staging musicals, concerts and events. Owned by Andrew Lloyd Webber, the business started in 1977 and was known as Really Useful Theatres until 2018. It earns money from ticket sales through its own box office, bars, VIP packages and afternoon teas, and hires its theatres to producers of musicals and other shows.
In brief: West End theatre owner · musicals and live events · tickets and hospitality
Source: LW Theatres' own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.
Who owns LW Theatres?
The Companies House register records Lw Entertainment Limited as the person with significant control of LW Theatres Group Limited, company number 03987955. Lw Entertainment Limited is itself company number 02286149.
That places LW Theatres Group Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs LW Theatres?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for LW Theatres Group Limited.
All 3 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Darren Peter Atkins | 24 July 2018 |
| Julie Lorraine Arnott | 26 February 2019 |
| Lawrence Ian Chapman | 1 April 2021 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did LW Theatres file?
LW Theatres Group Limited reported turnover of £180m in the year to June 2025. That was up 89.3% on £95m the year before.
It reported 629 employees. The year before it reported 365.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £20m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £3m the year before.
Staff costs came to £28m. That is an average of £44,000 a head. It ended the year with £7m at the bank and net assets of £126m.
| Measure | Jun 2025 | Jun 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £180m | £95m |
| Pre-tax profit | £20m (filed) | -£3m (filed) |
| Employees | 629 | 365 |
| Staff costs | £28m | £18m |
| Average staff cost per head | £44,000 | £49,000 |
| Bank and cash | £7m | £7m |
| Net assets | £126m | £109m |
| Interest paid | £5m | |
| Directors' pay | £1.3m |
Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against LW Theatres?
LW Theatres Group Limited has registered 18 charges at Companies House, of which 15 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 15 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Handelsbanken PLC | 22 August 2024 |
| Handelsbanken PLC | 9 July 2024 |
| Handelsbanken PLC (As Security Trustee) | 27 March 2023 |
| Handelsbanken PLC (As Security Trustee) | 27 March 2023 |
| Handelsbanken PLC (As Security Trustee) | 27 March 2023 |
| Handelsbanken PLC | 12 May 2020 |
| Handelsbanken PLC | 11 May 2020 |
| Handelsbanken PLC | 11 May 2020 |
| Handelsbanken PLC | 6 May 2020 |
| Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ) | 27 July 2017 |
| Svenska Handelsbanken (Ab) Publ, Acting Through London Holborn Branch | 2 September 2016 |
| Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ), Acting Through London Holborn Branch | 2 September 2016 |
| Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ) | 2 August 2016 |
| Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ) | 7 March 2013 |
| Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ) | 7 March 2013 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
LW Theatres files as LW Theatres Group Limited, whose person with significant control is Lw Entertainment Limited, with turnover of £180m in its latest filed year.
Questions about LW Theatres
What does LW Theatres do?
LW Theatres owns and runs West End theatres, including Theatre Royal Drury Lane and The London Palladium, staging musicals, concerts and events. Owned by Andrew Lloyd Webber, the business started in 1977 and was known as Really Useful Theatres until 2018. It earns money from ticket sales through its own box office, bars, VIP packages and afternoon teas, and hires its theatres to producers of musicals and other shows.
Who owns LW Theatres?
The Companies House register records Lw Entertainment Limited as the person with significant control of LW Theatres Group Limited.
How much does LW Theatres make?
LW Theatres Group Limited reported turnover of £180m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £20m.
How many people work at LW Theatres?
LW Theatres Group Limited reported 629 employees in the year to June 2025.
Who runs LW Theatres?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for LW Theatres Group Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from LW Theatres Group Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 03987955, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “LW Theatres: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/lw-theatres/. Figures from Companies House filings for LW THEATRES GROUP LIMITED (03987955).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the theatres: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks