Battle · 4 companies

Theatres

Full houses, or empty seats?

Royal Opera House leads on 2 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Royal Opera House is the biggest by turnover at £182m, against £180m at LW Theatres. Delfont Mackintosh Theatres keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £25.09 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Royal Opera House and National Theatre file group accounts that include subsidiaries; LW Theatres and Delfont Mackintosh Theatres file for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.

Accounts compared: LW Theatres to Jun 2025 · Delfont Mackintosh Theatres to Mar 2025 · Royal Opera House to Aug 2025 · National Theatre to Mar 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Royal Opera HouseRoyal Opera House Covent Garden Foundation £182m +0.1% £7m 4.1% 1,162 £64,000 £157,000 £304m £91m Aug 2025 Group
2 LW TheatresLW Theatres Group Limited £180m +89.3% £20m 11.2% 629 £44,000 £286,000 £126m £7m Jun 2025 Single company
3 National TheatreThe Royal National Theatre £129m +6.0% -£3m -1.9% 931 £54,000 £138,000 £89m £37m Mar 2025 Group
4 Delfont Mackintosh TheatresDelfont Mackintosh Theatres Limited £77m +8.0% £19m 25.1% 682 £39,000 £113,000 £166m £51m Mar 2025 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Delfont Mackintosh Theatres converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £25.09 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £1.94 at National Theatre.
  2. Royal Opera House is the largest on the top line, £182m of turnover, 1.0x LW Theatres's £180m.
  3. LW Theatres is growing fastest, turnover +89.3% on its own prior year.
  4. Royal Opera House is the biggest employer with 1,162 people; Royal Opera House pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £64,000.
  5. Royal Opera House has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £304m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Delfont Mackintosh Theatres keeps the most: £25.09 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. National Theatre does worst, losing £1.94.

Financing bites hardest at LW Theatres: £2.91 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £34.41 of every £100Payroll£34.41Financing: £0.03 of every £100Other costs: £40.47 of every £100Other costs£40.47Profit: £25.09 of every £100Profit £25.09DelfontMackintoshTheatresYear to Mar 2025£77mPayroll: £15.49 of every £100Payroll£15.49Financing: £2.91 of every £100Other costs: £70.43 of every £100Other costs£70.43Profit: £11.17 of every £100Profit £11.17LW TheatresYear to Jun 2025£180mPayroll: £40.88 of every £100Payroll£40.88Other costs: £55.05 of every £100Other costs£55.05Profit: £4.08 of every £100Profit £4.08Royal OperaHouseYear to Aug 2025£182mPayroll: £39.39 of every £100Payroll£39.39Other costs: £62.55 of every £100Other costs£62.55Loss (the costs beyond £100): £1.94 of every £100Loss £1.94NationalTheatreYear to Mar 2025£129m
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Royal Opera House (£182m), LW Theatres (£180m), National Theatre (£129m), Delfont Mackintosh Theatres (£77m).

By headcount, Royal Opera House leads with 1,162 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 5 months of each other. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Royal Opera House£182mLW Theatres£180mNational Theatre£129mDelfont Mackintosh Theatres£77m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

LW Theatres grew fastest, turnover +89.3% on its own prior year, ahead of Delfont Mackintosh Theatres (+8.0%), National Theatre (+6.0%), Royal Opera House (+0.1%).

LW Theatres+89.3%Delfont Mackintosh Theatres+8.0%National Theatre+6.0%Royal Opera House+0.1%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Royal Opera House employs the most, 1,162 people, against 931 at National Theatre.

Royal Opera House has the highest average staff cost, about £64,000 a head; Delfont Mackintosh Theatres the lowest, about £39,000.

LW Theatres brings in the most turnover per employee, about £286,000, against £113,000 at Delfont Mackintosh Theatres. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureLW TheatresDelfont Mackintosh TheatresRoyal Opera HouseNational Theatre
Registered nameLW THEATRES GROUP LIMITEDDELFONT MACKINTOSH THEATRES LIMITEDROYAL OPERA HOUSE COVENT GARDEN FOUNDATIONTHE ROYAL NATIONAL THEATRE
Company number03987955025186250048052300749504
Incorporated2000199019501963
Accounts filed24 February 202627 December 20254 June 202623 December 2025
Turnover, prior year£95m£72m£182m£121m
Pre-tax profit, prior year-£3m£17m£10m-£4m
Staff costs£28m£27m£74m£51m
Payroll share of turnover15.5%34.4%40.9%39.4%
Employees, prior year3656641,096840
Dividends paidn/dn/dn/dn/d
Charges outstanding15254

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Theatres: common questions

Who is the biggest of LW Theatres, Delfont Mackintosh Theatres, Royal Opera House or National Theatre?

Royal Opera House, with turnover of £182m in the year to August 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

LW Theatres: £20m pre-tax in the year to June 2025.

Which employs the most people?

Royal Opera House, with 1,162 employees in its latest accounts.

LW Theatres or Delfont Mackintosh Theatres: which is bigger?

LW Theatres, with turnover of £180m against £77m at Delfont Mackintosh Theatres on their latest filings. On margin, Delfont Mackintosh Theatres keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

LW Theatres or Royal Opera House: which is bigger?

Royal Opera House, with turnover of £182m against £180m at LW Theatres on their latest filings. On margin, LW Theatres keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

LW Theatres or National Theatre: which is bigger?

LW Theatres, with turnover of £180m against £129m at National Theatre on their latest filings. On margin, LW Theatres keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Delfont Mackintosh Theatres or Royal Opera House: which is bigger?

Royal Opera House, with turnover of £182m against £77m at Delfont Mackintosh Theatres on their latest filings. On margin, Delfont Mackintosh Theatres keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Delfont Mackintosh Theatres or National Theatre: which is bigger?

National Theatre, with turnover of £129m against £77m at Delfont Mackintosh Theatres on their latest filings. On margin, Delfont Mackintosh Theatres keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Royal Opera House or National Theatre: which is bigger?

Royal Opera House, with turnover of £182m against £129m at National Theatre on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Opera House keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.