Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed October 2025

Luminance: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Luminance Technologies Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Ms Angela Bacares. In the year to December 2024 Luminance Technologies Ltd reported turnover of £16m.

£16m
Turnover, up 67.3%
-£14m
Pre-tax profit
195
Employees
Registered name
LUMINANCE TECHNOLOGIES LTD
Company number
09857705
Status
Active
Incorporated
5 November 2015
Registered office area
Cambridge
Industry code on the register
62012: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 2 October 2025

What does Luminance do?

Luminance makes artificial intelligence software for lawyers, used to draft, review, negotiate and manage contracts and other legal documents. It sells its platform on subscription to law firms and to in-house legal teams at companies. The business was founded in Cambridge in 2015 by mathematicians from the University of Cambridge, and its technology is designed to read and understand legal language across many languages.

In brief: legal AI · contract review and negotiation · subscription software · founded in Cambridge

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: luminance.com.

Who owns Luminance?

Luminance Technologies Ltd
Luminance · company 09857705
Ms Angela Bacares
Individual

The Companies House register records Ms Angela Bacares as the person with significant control of Luminance Technologies Ltd, company number 09857705.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Luminance?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Luminance Technologies Ltd.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Andrew Mark Kanter13 September 2016
Harry Borovick2 August 2022
Eleanor Lightbody11 March 2024
Hyun Koo11 March 2024
Martina King19 November 2024
Tara Stokes24 October 2025
Vanessa Elizabeth Colomar23 June 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Luminance file?

Luminance Technologies Ltd reported turnover of £16m in the year to December 2024. That was up 67.3% on £9m the year before.

It reported 195 employees. The year before it reported 154.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £14m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £9m the year before.

Staff costs came to £16m. That is an average of £82,000 a head. It ended the year with £19m at the bank and net assets of £15m.

Dec 2024£101.16£86.26£87.42 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£16m£9m
Pre-tax profit-£14m (filed)-£9m (filed)
Employees195154
Staff costs£16m
Average staff cost per head£82,000
Bank and cash£19m£3m
Net assets£15m£2m
Interest received£0.3m
Directors' pay£0.3m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Luminance?

Luminance Technologies Ltd has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Luminance files as Luminance Technologies Ltd, whose person with significant control is Ms Angela Bacares, with turnover of £16m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Luminance

What does Luminance do?

Luminance makes artificial intelligence software for lawyers, used to draft, review, negotiate and manage contracts and other legal documents. It sells its platform on subscription to law firms and to in-house legal teams at companies. The business was founded in Cambridge in 2015 by mathematicians from the University of Cambridge, and its technology is designed to read and understand legal language across many languages.

Who owns Luminance?

The Companies House register records Ms Angela Bacares as the person with significant control of Luminance Technologies Ltd.

How much does Luminance make?

Luminance Technologies Ltd reported turnover of £16m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £14m.

How many people work at Luminance?

Luminance Technologies Ltd reported 195 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Luminance?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Luminance Technologies Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Luminance Technologies Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 09857705, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Luminance: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/luminance/. Figures from Companies House filings for LUMINANCE TECHNOLOGIES LTD (09857705).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings