Kilmarnock: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Bowie Ventures Limited. In the year to May 2025 The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited reported turnover of £9m.
- Registered name
- THE KILMARNOCK FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
- Company number
- SC006219
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 20 June 1906
- Registered office area
- Kilmarnock
- Industry code on the register
- 93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to May 2025, filed 24 February 2026
What does Kilmarnock do?
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited owns Kilmarnock FC, a professional football club founded in 1869 and based at Rugby Park in Kilmarnock. It is one of the oldest professional clubs in Scotland. The club earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship, merchandise and matchday hospitality packages. It also runs community programmes that use football to support local people of all ages.
In brief: professional football club · Ayrshire · tickets, hospitality and sponsorship · founded 1869
Source: Kilmarnock's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.
Who owns Kilmarnock?
The Companies House register records Bowie Ventures Limited as the person with significant control of The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited, company number SC006219. Bowie Ventures Limited is itself company number SC547141.
That places The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Kilmarnock?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| William Davidson Bowie | 14 March 2014 |
| Phyllis Carroll | 12 May 2018 |
| Catherine Mary Jamieson | 1 June 2018 |
| Graeme Bryson | 1 September 2019 |
| Donald Wilson Bircham | 21 August 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Kilmarnock file?
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited reported turnover of £9m in the year to May 2025. That was up 18.4% on £8m the year before.
It reported 195 employees. The year before it reported 161.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.8m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1.0m the year before.
Staff costs came to £6m. That is an average of £30,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.2m at the bank and net assets of £6m.
| Measure | May 2025 | May 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £9m | £8m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£0.8m (filed) | -£1.0m (filed) |
| Employees | 195 | 161 |
| Staff costs | £6m | £5m |
| Average staff cost per head | £30,000 | £30,000 |
| Bank and cash | £0.2m | £0.1m |
| Net assets | £6m | £7m |
| Interest paid | £73k |
Read the accounts to May 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Kilmarnock?
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited has registered 11 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
The outstanding charge
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 31 January 2022 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Kilmarnock files as The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited, whose person with significant control is Bowie Ventures Limited, with turnover of £9m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Kilmarnock
What does Kilmarnock do?
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited owns Kilmarnock FC, a professional football club founded in 1869 and based at Rugby Park in Kilmarnock. It is one of the oldest professional clubs in Scotland. The club earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship, merchandise and matchday hospitality packages. It also runs community programmes that use football to support local people of all ages.
Who owns Kilmarnock?
The Companies House register records Bowie Ventures Limited as the person with significant control of The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited.
How much does Kilmarnock make?
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited reported turnover of £9m in the year to May 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.8m.
How many people work at Kilmarnock?
The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited reported 195 employees in the year to May 2025.
Who runs Kilmarnock?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from The Kilmarnock Football Club Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC006219, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Kilmarnock: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/kilmarnock/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE KILMARNOCK FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED (SC006219).
More from Spark Intel
Company profile
Formula One Group: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mercedes F1: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McLaren: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks