Jockey Club Racecourses: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Jockey Club Racecourses Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Jockey Club Racecourses (Holdings) Ltd. In the year to December 2025 Jockey Club Racecourses Limited reported turnover of £237m.
- Registered name
- JOCKEY CLUB RACECOURSES LIMITED
- Company number
- 02909409
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 17 March 1994
- Registered office area
- Gloucester
- Industry code on the register
- 93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 26 July 2026
What does Jockey Club Racecourses do?
Jockey Club Racecourses runs The Jockey Club's group of 14 British racecourses: Aintree, Carlisle, Haydock Park, Huntingdon, Market Rasen, Newmarket, Nottingham, Epsom Downs, Kempton Park, Sandown Park, Cheltenham, Exeter, Warwick and Wincanton. The Jockey Club was founded in 1750 and operates under a Royal Charter to act for the long-term good of British racing. Its courses stage flat and jumps racing, including the Cheltenham Festival, the Grand National at Aintree and the Derby at Epsom Downs. The group earns money from racedays, hospitality and dining, live music nights and venue hire for conferences, exhibitions and weddings through Jockey Club Venues.
In brief: 14 racecourses across Britain · Cheltenham, Aintree, Epsom Downs · part of The Jockey Club, founded 1750 · racedays, hospitality and venue hire
Source: Jockey Club Racecourses' own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Jockey Club Racecourses?
The Companies House register records Jockey Club Racecourses (Holdings) Ltd as the person with significant control of Jockey Club Racecourses Limited, company number 02909409. Jockey Club Racecourses (Holdings) Ltd is itself company number 00806698.
That places Jockey Club Racecourses Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Jockey Club Racecourses?
The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Jockey Club Racecourses Limited.
All 2 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Stuart John Clark | 31 December 2020 |
| James Joseph Mullen | 2 June 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Jockey Club Racecourses file?
Jockey Club Racecourses Limited reported turnover of £237m in the year to December 2025. That was up 2.8% on £230m the year before.
The year before it reported 623.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £3m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £20m the year before.
It ended the year with £10m at the bank and net assets of £101m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £237m | £230m |
| Pre-tax profit | £3m (filed) | £20m (filed) |
| Employees | n/d | 623 |
| Staff costs | n/d | £29m |
| Average staff cost per head | n/d | £47,000 |
| Bank and cash | £10m | £9m |
| Net assets | £101m | £107m |
| Interest paid | £2m | |
| Interest received | £0.8m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Jockey Club Racecourses?
Jockey Club Racecourses Limited has registered 20 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited | 29 March 2016 |
| Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Trustee | 24 March 2016 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How Jockey Club Racecourses compares
Jockey Club Racecourses files as Jockey Club Racecourses Limited, whose person with significant control is Jockey Club Racecourses (Holdings) Ltd, with turnover of £237m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Jockey Club Racecourses
What does Jockey Club Racecourses do?
Jockey Club Racecourses runs The Jockey Club's group of 14 British racecourses: Aintree, Carlisle, Haydock Park, Huntingdon, Market Rasen, Newmarket, Nottingham, Epsom Downs, Kempton Park, Sandown Park, Cheltenham, Exeter, Warwick and Wincanton. The Jockey Club was founded in 1750 and operates under a Royal Charter to act for the long-term good of British racing. Its courses stage flat and jumps racing, including the Cheltenham Festival, the Grand National at Aintree and the Derby at Epsom Downs. The group earns money from racedays, hospitality and dining, live music nights and venue hire for conferences, exhibitions and weddings through Jockey Club Venues.
Who owns Jockey Club Racecourses?
The Companies House register records Jockey Club Racecourses (Holdings) Ltd as the person with significant control of Jockey Club Racecourses Limited.
How much does Jockey Club Racecourses make?
Jockey Club Racecourses Limited reported turnover of £237m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £3m.
Who runs Jockey Club Racecourses?
The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Jockey Club Racecourses Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Jockey Club Racecourses Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02909409, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Jockey Club Racecourses: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/jockey-club-racecourses/. Figures from Companies House filings for JOCKEY CLUB RACECOURSES LIMITED (02909409).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Jockey Club Racecourses v Arena Racing Company: revenue, profit and who owns them
Read →Company profile
Formula One Group: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mercedes F1: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McLaren: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks