Accounts to January 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2026

Itsu: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Itsu Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Butterfly 21 Bidco Limited. In the year to January 2026 Itsu Limited reported turnover of £124m.

£124m
Turnover, up 2.8%
-£5m
Pre-tax profit
1,195
Employees
Registered name
ITSU LIMITED
Company number
03286342
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 December 1996
Registered office area
South West London
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 7 September 2026

What does Itsu do?

Itsu runs Asian-inspired food-to-go shops selling rice bowls, sushi, salads, noodle and soup dishes, steamed gyoza and bao. Customers eat in or take away, and it also supplies catering delivered to offices and events. Much of the food is steamed rather than fried, and shops hold a half-price sale each evening to cut food waste. The first shop opened in Chelsea, London, in 1997, and an itsu grocery range is sold in supermarkets.

In brief: Asian-inspired food to go · sushi, rice bowls and gyoza · own shops · evening half-price sale

Source: Itsu's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Itsu?

Itsu Limited
Itsu · company 03286342
Butterfly 21 Bidco Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Butterfly 21 Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Itsu Limited, company number 03286342. Butterfly 21 Bidco Limited is itself company number 13226962.

That places Itsu Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Itsu?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Itsu Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Julian Edward Metcalfe16 December 1996
Clive Edward Benedict Schlee1 December 1998
Clive Edward Benedict Schlee24 March 1999
Celeste Tobias-Metcalfe12 August 2016

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Itsu file?

Itsu Limited reported turnover of £124m in the year to January 2026. That was up 2.8% on £120m the year before.

It reported 1,195 employees. The year before it reported 1,217.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £5m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £7m the year before.

Staff costs came to £41m. That is an average of £34,000 a head. It ended the year with £3m at the bank and net assets of -£17m.

Jan 2026£32.86£69.29£4.21 loss
Dec 2024£32.04£73.50£5.54 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Dec 2024
Turnover£124m£120m
Pre-tax profit-£5m (filed)-£7m (filed)
Employees1,1951,217
Staff costs£41m£39m
Average staff cost per head£34,000£32,000
Bank and cash£3m£2m
Net assets-£17m-£12m
Interest paid£3m
Interest received£93k
Directors' pay£0.7m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Itsu?

Itsu Limited has registered 22 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc Bank PLC25 November 2024
Hsbc UK Bank PLC30 July 2024
Hsbc UK Bank PLC22 December 2022
Hsbc UK Bank PLC20 December 2021
Bridgepoint Funding V 2 Limited20 December 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Itsu compares

Itsu files as Itsu Limited, whose person with significant control is Butterfly 21 Bidco Limited, with turnover of £124m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Itsu

What does Itsu do?

Itsu runs Asian-inspired food-to-go shops selling rice bowls, sushi, salads, noodle and soup dishes, steamed gyoza and bao. Customers eat in or take away, and it also supplies catering delivered to offices and events. Much of the food is steamed rather than fried, and shops hold a half-price sale each evening to cut food waste. The first shop opened in Chelsea, London, in 1997, and an itsu grocery range is sold in supermarkets.

Who owns Itsu?

The Companies House register records Butterfly 21 Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Itsu Limited.

How much does Itsu make?

Itsu Limited reported turnover of £124m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax loss of £5m.

How many people work at Itsu?

Itsu Limited reported 1,195 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs Itsu?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Itsu Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Itsu Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 03286342, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Itsu: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/itsu/. Figures from Companies House filings for ITSU LIMITED (03286342).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings