Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

Hyperoptic: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Hyperoptic Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Jhw Bidco Limited. In the year to December 2024 Hyperoptic Ltd reported turnover of £114m.

£114m
Turnover, up 21.7%
-£144m
Pre-tax profit
1,724
Employees
Registered name
HYPEROPTIC LTD
Company number
07222543
Status
Active
Incorporated
13 April 2010
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
61100: Telecommunications
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 7 October 2025

What does Hyperoptic do?

Hyperoptic provides full-fibre broadband and home phone services to homes and businesses in UK towns and cities, with a long history of connecting apartment buildings. It earns money from monthly broadband subscriptions sold directly to customers over its own fibre network. Building its own network lets it offer symmetrical speeds, with upload as fast as download. The company was founded in London in 2011 by Dana Tobak and Boris Ivanovic.

In brief: full-fibre broadband · own network · monthly subscriptions · founded in London

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: hyperoptic.com.

Who owns Hyperoptic?

Hyperoptic Ltd
Hyperoptic · company 07222543
Jhw Bidco Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Jhw Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Hyperoptic Ltd, company number 07222543. Jhw Bidco Limited is itself company number 08494829.

That places Hyperoptic Ltd inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Hyperoptic?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Hyperoptic Ltd.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Dana Rachel Pressman Tobak13 April 2010
Samuel Horrocks1 September 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Hyperoptic file?

Hyperoptic Ltd reported turnover of £114m in the year to December 2024. That was up 21.7% on £93m the year before.

It reported 1,724 employees. The year before it reported 1,943.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £144m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £142m the year before.

Staff costs came to £38m. That is an average of £22,000 a head. It ended the year with £12m at the bank and net assets of -£311m.

Dec 2024£33.62£74.79£118.58£126.99 loss
Dec 2023£41.47£210.71£152.19 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket; where it ends in an arrow the costs run past £200. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£114m£93m
Pre-tax profit-£144m (filed)-£142m (filed)
Employees1,7241,943
Staff costs£38m£39m
Average staff cost per head£22,000£20,000
Bank and cash£12m£13m
Net assets-£311m-£391m
Interest paid£85m
Interest received£0.2m
Directors' pay£1.1m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Hyperoptic?

Hyperoptic Ltd has registered 5 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
National Westminster Bank PLC (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees)18 November 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Hyperoptic files as Hyperoptic Ltd, whose person with significant control is Jhw Bidco Limited, with turnover of £114m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Hyperoptic

What does Hyperoptic do?

Hyperoptic provides full-fibre broadband and home phone services to homes and businesses in UK towns and cities, with a long history of connecting apartment buildings. It earns money from monthly broadband subscriptions sold directly to customers over its own fibre network. Building its own network lets it offer symmetrical speeds, with upload as fast as download. The company was founded in London in 2011 by Dana Tobak and Boris Ivanovic.

Who owns Hyperoptic?

The Companies House register records Jhw Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Hyperoptic Ltd.

How much does Hyperoptic make?

Hyperoptic Ltd reported turnover of £114m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £144m.

How many people work at Hyperoptic?

Hyperoptic Ltd reported 1,724 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Hyperoptic?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Hyperoptic Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Hyperoptic Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 07222543, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Hyperoptic: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/hyperoptic/. Figures from Companies House filings for HYPEROPTIC LTD (07222543).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings