Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed July 2026

Hostelworld: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Hostelworld Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to December 2025 it reported turnover of £81m.

£81m
Turnover, up 4.4%
£7m
Pre-tax profit
260
Employees
Registered name
HOSTELWORLD GROUP PLC
Company number
09818705
Status
Active
Incorporated
9 October 2015
Registered office area
Birmingham
Industry code on the register
64209: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 9 July 2026

What does Hostelworld do?

Hostelworld is an online booking platform for hostels and other budget accommodation, used mainly by young and solo travellers. It earns commission on the bookings made through its website and app, with hostels paying for the reservations they receive. Its social features let guests see who else is staying and chat before they arrive. The business began in Ireland and is listed on the London Stock Exchange and Euronext Dublin.

In brief: hostel booking platform · commission on bookings · social travel features · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: hostelworld.com.

Who owns Hostelworld?

Hostelworld Group PLC
Hostelworld · company 09818705
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Hostelworld Group PLC, company number 09818705, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Hostelworld?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Hostelworld Group PLC.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
John Duggan11 June 2018
Gary Magnus Morrison11 June 2018
Evan Cohen14 August 2019
Caroline Sherry1 December 2020
Paul Duffy2 May 2024
Marieke Bax30 January 2026
Wais Shaifta24 July 2026
Karen Ruth Myers24 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Hostelworld file?

Hostelworld Group PLC reported turnover of £81m in the year to December 2025. That was up 4.4% on £78m the year before.

It reported 260 employees. The year before it reported 228.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £7m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £9m the year before.

Staff costs came to £21m. That is an average of £82,000 a head. It ended the year with £11m at the bank and net assets of £63m. It paid dividends of £1.0m.

Dec 2025£26.23£64.71£8.96 profit
Dec 2024£24.67£63.26£12.07 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£81m£78m
Pre-tax profit£7m (filed)£9m (filed)
Employees260228
Staff costs£21m£19m
Average staff cost per head£82,000£84,000
Bank and cash£11m£7m
Net assets£63m£59m
Dividends paid£1.0m
Interest paid£86k
Interest received£86k
Directors' pay£1.5m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Hostelworld?

Hostelworld Group PLC has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Allied Irish Banks, P.L.C.30 October 2025
Allied Irish Banks, P.L.C.27 October 2025

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Hostelworld files as Hostelworld Group PLC, with turnover of £81m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Hostelworld

What does Hostelworld do?

Hostelworld is an online booking platform for hostels and other budget accommodation, used mainly by young and solo travellers. It earns commission on the bookings made through its website and app, with hostels paying for the reservations they receive. Its social features let guests see who else is staying and chat before they arrive. The business began in Ireland and is listed on the London Stock Exchange and Euronext Dublin.

Who owns Hostelworld?

Hostelworld Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Hostelworld make?

Hostelworld Group PLC reported turnover of £81m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £7m.

How many people work at Hostelworld?

Hostelworld Group PLC reported 260 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Hostelworld?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Hostelworld Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Hostelworld Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 09818705, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Hostelworld: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/hostelworld/. Figures from Companies House filings for HOSTELWORLD GROUP PLC (09818705).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings