Accounts to March 2025 · Group accounts · Filed September 2025

Autotrader: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Autotrader Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to March 2025 it reported turnover of £601m.

Autotrader has filed accounts for the year to 31 March 2026 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 March 2025. It will update when they are.

£601m
Turnover, up 5.3%
£376m
Pre-tax profit
1,267
Employees
Registered name
AUTOTRADER GROUP PLC
Company number
09439967
Status
Active
Incorporated
13 February 2015
Registered office area
Manchester
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 26 September 2025

What does Autotrader do?

Autotrader is an online marketplace for buying and selling new and used cars in the UK. Most of its money comes from car retailers and manufacturers, who pay subscriptions to advertise vehicles and use its pricing and data tools, with extra income from private sellers and advertising. It began in 1977 as a classified car magazine before moving fully online, and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: online car marketplace · retailer subscriptions · pricing and data tools · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: autotrader.co.uk.

Who owns Autotrader?

Autotrader Group PLC
Autotrader · company 09439967
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Autotrader Group PLC, company number 09439967, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Autotrader?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Autotrader Group PLC.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Claire Baty1 November 2016
Nathan James Coe1 April 2017
James Jonathan Warner1 March 2020
Jasvinder Kaur Gakhal1 January 2022
Matthew Samuel Davies1 July 2023
Geeta Gopalan1 May 2024
Amanda James1 July 2024
Adam Douglas Otho Jay1 July 2025
Megan Mackenzie-Quinn Siegler1 July 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Autotrader file?

Autotrader Group PLC reported turnover of £601m in the year to March 2025. That was up 5.3% on £571m the year before.

It reported 1,267 employees. The year before it reported 1,233.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £376m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £345m the year before.

Staff costs came to £100m. That is an average of £79,000 a head. It ended the year with £15m at the bank and net assets of £569m. It paid dividends of £88m.

Mar 2025£16.67£20.50£62.50£62.50 profit
Mar 2024£16.18£23.35£60.47£60.47 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£601m£571m
Pre-tax profit£376m (filed)£345m (filed)
Employees1,2671,233
Staff costs£100m£92m
Average staff cost per head£79,000£75,000
Bank and cash£15m£19m
Net assets£569m£552m
Dividends paid£88m£80m
Interest paid£2m
Interest received£0.9m
Directors' pay£7m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Autotrader?

Autotrader Group PLC has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Autotrader compares

Autotrader files as Autotrader Group PLC, with turnover of £601m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Autotrader

What does Autotrader do?

Autotrader is an online marketplace for buying and selling new and used cars in the UK. Most of its money comes from car retailers and manufacturers, who pay subscriptions to advertise vehicles and use its pricing and data tools, with extra income from private sellers and advertising. It began in 1977 as a classified car magazine before moving fully online, and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Autotrader?

Autotrader Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Autotrader make?

Autotrader Group PLC reported turnover of £601m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £376m.

How many people work at Autotrader?

Autotrader Group PLC reported 1,267 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Autotrader?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Autotrader Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Autotrader Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 09439967, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Autotrader: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/autotrader/. Figures from Companies House filings for AUTOTRADER GROUP PLC (09439967).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings