Accounts to June 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed December 2025

Hearts: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Heart of Midlothian PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Foundation Of Hearts Limited. In the year to June 2025 Heart of Midlothian PLC reported turnover of £24m.

£24m
Turnover, up 20.7%
-£2.0m
Pre-tax profit
325
Employees
Registered name
HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN PLC
Company number
SC005863
Status
Active
Incorporated
29 April 1905
Registered office area
Edinburgh
Industry code on the register
93120: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to June 2025, filed 10 December 2025

What does Hearts do?

Heart of Midlothian PLC owns Hearts, a professional football club founded in 1874 and based at Tynecastle Park in Edinburgh. The club fields men's and women's teams and runs an academy, with supporters holding a majority stake through the Foundation of Hearts. It earns money from tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship and merchandise, and from a hotel, restaurant, conference and wedding venue, and stadium tours at Tynecastle.

In brief: professional football club · Edinburgh · fan-owned · founded 1874

Source: Hearts' own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Hearts?

Heart of Midlothian PLC
Hearts · company SC005863
Foundation Of Hearts Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Foundation Of Hearts Limited as the person with significant control of Heart of Midlothian PLC, company number SC005863. Foundation Of Hearts Limited is itself company number SC387126.

That places Heart of Midlothian PLC inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Hearts?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Heart of Midlothian PLC.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
James Kennedy Anderson1 July 2021
Gerard Martin Mallon1 June 2022
Claire Hammond7 January 2025
James Alan Franks24 June 2025
Euan Forbes1 July 2025
Euan Forbes1 July 2025
Calum Macdonald Paterson4 December 2025
Ralph Graham Findlay4 December 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Hearts file?

Heart of Midlothian PLC reported turnover of £24m in the year to June 2025. That was up 20.7% on £20m the year before.

It reported 325 employees. The year before it reported 296.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £2.0m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £4m the year before.

Staff costs came to £19m. That is an average of £59,000 a head. It ended the year with £10m at the bank and net assets of £28m.

Jun 2025£78.22£27.79£8.17 loss
Jun 2024£81.28£40.65£21.93 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJun 2025Jun 2024
Turnover£24m£20m
Pre-tax profit-£2.0m (filed)-£4m (filed)
Employees325296
Staff costs£19m£16m
Average staff cost per head£59,000£56,000
Bank and cash£10m£2m
Net assets£28m£20m
Interest paid£0.5m
Interest received£87k
Directors' pay£0.4m

Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Hearts?

Heart of Midlothian PLC has registered 22 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 4 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Foundation of Hearts Limited21 May 2014
Bidco (1874) Limited17 May 2014
Bidco (1874) Limited16 May 2014
Foundation of Hearts Limited16 May 2014

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Hearts files as Heart of Midlothian PLC, whose person with significant control is Foundation Of Hearts Limited, with turnover of £24m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Hearts

What does Hearts do?

Heart of Midlothian PLC owns Hearts, a professional football club founded in 1874 and based at Tynecastle Park in Edinburgh. The club fields men's and women's teams and runs an academy, with supporters holding a majority stake through the Foundation of Hearts. It earns money from tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship and merchandise, and from a hotel, restaurant, conference and wedding venue, and stadium tours at Tynecastle.

Who owns Hearts?

The Companies House register records Foundation Of Hearts Limited as the person with significant control of Heart of Midlothian PLC.

How much does Hearts make?

Heart of Midlothian PLC reported turnover of £24m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £2.0m.

How many people work at Hearts?

Heart of Midlothian PLC reported 325 employees in the year to June 2025.

Who runs Hearts?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Heart of Midlothian PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Heart of Midlothian PLC's filings at Companies House, company number SC005863, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Hearts: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/hearts/. Figures from Companies House filings for HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN PLC (SC005863).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings