Accounts to July 2025 · Group accounts · Filed May 2026

Gymshark: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Gymshark Topco Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Benjamin David Francis. It holds more than 25% but not more than 50% of the company. In the year to July 2025 Gymshark Topco Limited reported turnover of £647m.

£647m
Turnover, up 6.6%
£7m
Pre-tax profit
1,029
Employees
Registered name
GYMSHARK TOPCO LIMITED
Company number
16577203
Status
Active
Incorporated
11 July 2025
Registered office area
Birmingham
Industry code on the register
64209: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to July 2025, filed 20 May 2026

What does Gymshark do?

Gymshark is a fitness clothing brand that designs and sells gym wear and accessories for men and women. It sells mainly direct to customers through its own website and app around the world, and also has a small number of its own stores. It grew by working with fitness influencers and athletes on social media rather than through traditional advertising. Gymshark started in 2012 in a garage in Birmingham.

In brief: fitness clothing brand · sells direct online · social media and athlete-led marketing · founded Birmingham 2012

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: gymshark.com.

Who owns Gymshark?

Gymshark Topco Limited
Gymshark · company 16577203
Benjamin David Francis
Individual · holds more than 25% but not more than 50%

The Companies House register records Benjamin David Francis as the person with significant control of Gymshark Topco Limited, company number 16577203. It holds more than 25% but not more than 50% of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 11 July 2025.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Gymshark?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Gymshark Topco Limited.

All 6 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Christopher Ian Reed11 July 2025
Benjamin David Francis11 July 2025
Noel Anthony McElhinney30 July 2025
Stacey Cartwright1 August 2025
Melis Kahya Akar1 August 2025
Richard Elliot Burgess Sanders19 August 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Gymshark file?

Gymshark Topco Limited reported turnover of £647m in the year to July 2025. That was up 6.6% on £607m the year before.

It reported 1,029 employees. The year before it reported 881.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £7m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £12m the year before.

Staff costs came to £70m. That is an average of £68,000 a head. It ended the year with £37m at the bank and net assets of £101m.

Jul 2025£87.02£1.06 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJul 2025Jul 2024
Turnover£647m£607m
Pre-tax profit£7m (filed)£12m (filed)
Employees1,029881
Staff costs£70m
Average staff cost per head£68,000
Bank and cash£37m£59m
Net assets£101m£98m
Interest paid£7m
Interest received£1.5m
Directors' pay£2m

Read the accounts to July 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

How Gymshark compares

Gymshark files as Gymshark Topco Limited, whose person with significant control is Benjamin David Francis, with turnover of £647m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Gymshark

What does Gymshark do?

Gymshark is a fitness clothing brand that designs and sells gym wear and accessories for men and women. It sells mainly direct to customers through its own website and app around the world, and also has a small number of its own stores. It grew by working with fitness influencers and athletes on social media rather than through traditional advertising. Gymshark started in 2012 in a garage in Birmingham.

Who owns Gymshark?

The Companies House register records Benjamin David Francis as the person with significant control of Gymshark Topco Limited. It holds more than 25% but not more than 50% of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Gymshark make?

Gymshark Topco Limited reported turnover of £647m in the year to July 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £7m.

How many people work at Gymshark?

Gymshark Topco Limited reported 1,029 employees in the year to July 2025.

Who runs Gymshark?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Gymshark Topco Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Gymshark Topco Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 16577203, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Gymshark: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/gymshark/. Figures from Companies House filings for GYMSHARK TOPCO LIMITED (16577203).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings