Graphcore: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Graphcore Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Softbank Group Corp.. In the 15 months to March 2025 Graphcore Limited reported turnover of £69m.
These accounts cover 15 months, not the usual 12, so Graphcore's turnover growth against the year before is not a like-for-like comparison.
- Registered name
- GRAPHCORE LIMITED
- Company number
- 10185006
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 17 May 2016
- Registered office area
- Bristol
- Industry code on the register
- 62090: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- 15 months to March 2025, filed 13 December 2025
What does Graphcore do?
Graphcore is a Bristol-based semiconductor company that designs processors and computing systems for artificial intelligence, built around its own chip called the Intelligence Processing Unit, or IPU. It makes money from selling its chips and systems and from related software and engineering work, competing with graphics processors used for training and running AI models. It was founded in 2016 by Nigel Toon and Simon Knowles, and is owned by the Japanese technology investor SoftBank Group.
In brief: AI chips · Intelligence Processing Unit · Bristol · owned by SoftBank
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: graphcore.ai.
Who owns Graphcore?
The Companies House register records Softbank Group Corp. as the person with significant control of Graphcore Limited, company number 10185006. Softbank Group Corp. is itself company number 0104-01-.
That places Graphcore Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Graphcore?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Graphcore Limited.
All 3 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Jared Patrick Roscoe | 11 July 2024 |
| Ippei Mimura | 11 July 2024 |
| Marcus William McElroy | 18 December 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Graphcore file?
This accounting period ran for 15 months because the company changed its year end, so the figures are not directly comparable with a twelve-month year.
Graphcore Limited reported turnover of £69m in the 15 months to March 2025. That was up 2177.9% on £3m the year before.
The year before it reported 433.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £47m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £85m the year before.
Staff costs came to £100m. It ended the year with £27m at the bank and net assets of £8m.
| Measure | Mar 2025 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £69m | £3m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£47m (filed) | -£85m (filed) |
| Employees | n/d | 433 |
| Staff costs | £100m | £55m |
| Average staff cost per head | n/d | £126,000 |
| Bank and cash | £27m | £52m |
| Net assets | £8m | £27m |
| Interest paid | £1.0m | |
| Interest received | £1.4m | |
| Directors' pay | £10m |
Read the accounts to March 2025 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing
Graphcore files as Graphcore Limited, whose person with significant control is Softbank Group Corp., with turnover of £69m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Graphcore
What does Graphcore do?
Graphcore is a Bristol-based semiconductor company that designs processors and computing systems for artificial intelligence, built around its own chip called the Intelligence Processing Unit, or IPU. It makes money from selling its chips and systems and from related software and engineering work, competing with graphics processors used for training and running AI models. It was founded in 2016 by Nigel Toon and Simon Knowles, and is owned by the Japanese technology investor SoftBank Group.
Who owns Graphcore?
The Companies House register records Softbank Group Corp. as the person with significant control of Graphcore Limited.
How much does Graphcore make?
Graphcore Limited reported turnover of £69m in the 15 months to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £47m.
Who runs Graphcore?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Graphcore Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Graphcore Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 10185006, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Graphcore: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/graphcore/. Figures from Companies House filings for GRAPHCORE LIMITED (10185006).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the UK AI companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Google DeepMind: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Darktrace: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Quantexa: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks