Folly Farm: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Folly Farm Leisure Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Hayloft Holdings (Wales) Limited. In the year to December 2024 Folly Farm Leisure Limited reported turnover of £11m.
- Registered name
- FOLLY FARM LEISURE LIMITED
- Company number
- 04083584
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 29 September 2000
- Registered office area
- Swansea
- Industry code on the register
- 56210: Food and beverage service activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 25 September 2025
What does Folly Farm do?
Folly Farm is a family-run zoo, farm park, vintage funfair and holiday park near Kilgetty in Pembrokeshire. It began as a working dairy farm and opened as a visitor attraction in 1988. It earns money from day admissions, holiday stays in lodges, glamping, cottages and touring pitches, animal experiences and school trips. The zoo takes part in European breeding programmes for endangered species.
In brief: family attraction · zoo, farm and funfair · holiday park
Source: Folly Farm's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.
Who owns Folly Farm?
The Companies House register records Hayloft Holdings (Wales) Limited as the person with significant control of Folly Farm Leisure Limited, company number 04083584. Hayloft Holdings (Wales) Limited is itself company number 08010198.
That places Folly Farm Leisure Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Folly Farm?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Folly Farm Leisure Limited.
All 3 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Janet Anne Williams | 29 September 2000 |
| Karina Jayne Ebsworth | 29 September 2000 |
| Christopher Keith Ebsworth | 29 September 2000 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Folly Farm file?
Folly Farm Leisure Limited reported turnover of £11m in the year to December 2024. That was up 5.2% on £10m the year before.
It reported 205 employees. The year before it reported 160.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.3m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1.7m the year before.
Staff costs came to £4m. That is an average of £21,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.5m at the bank and net assets of £0.5m. It paid dividends of £1.5m.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £11m | £10m |
| Pre-tax profit | £1.3m (filed) | £1.7m (filed) |
| Employees | 205 | 160 |
| Staff costs | £4m | |
| Average staff cost per head | £21,000 | |
| Bank and cash | £1.5m | £2m |
| Net assets | £0.5m | £0.9m |
| Dividends paid | £1.5m | |
| Interest paid | £48k |
Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Folly Farm?
Folly Farm Leisure Limited has registered 4 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc Bank PLC | 2 July 2010 |
| Hsbc Bank PLC | 25 April 2003 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Folly Farm files as Folly Farm Leisure Limited, whose person with significant control is Hayloft Holdings (Wales) Limited, with turnover of £11m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Folly Farm
What does Folly Farm do?
Folly Farm is a family-run zoo, farm park, vintage funfair and holiday park near Kilgetty in Pembrokeshire. It began as a working dairy farm and opened as a visitor attraction in 1988. It earns money from day admissions, holiday stays in lodges, glamping, cottages and touring pitches, animal experiences and school trips. The zoo takes part in European breeding programmes for endangered species.
Who owns Folly Farm?
The Companies House register records Hayloft Holdings (Wales) Limited as the person with significant control of Folly Farm Leisure Limited.
How much does Folly Farm make?
Folly Farm Leisure Limited reported turnover of £11m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.3m.
How many people work at Folly Farm?
Folly Farm Leisure Limited reported 205 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs Folly Farm?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Folly Farm Leisure Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Folly Farm Leisure Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 04083584, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Folly Farm: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/folly-farm/. Figures from Companies House filings for FOLLY FARM LEISURE LIMITED (04083584).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the safari and wildlife parks: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks