Accounts to January 2026 · Group accounts · Filed May 2026

England and Wales Cricket Board: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to January 2026 it reported turnover of £409m.

England and Wales Cricket Board's pre-tax profit in these accounts is well out of line with the year before. That usually points to a one-off, such as a gain or dividend from inside the group or an acquisition, rather than trading. The figures are shown as filed; the full accounts at Companies House explain what is behind them.

£409m
Turnover, up 28.0%
£538m
Pre-tax profit
486
Employees
Registered name
ENGLAND AND WALES CRICKET BOARD LIMITED
Company number
03251364
Status
Active
Incorporated
18 September 1996
Registered office area
North-West London
Industry code on the register
93199: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 20 May 2026

What does England and Wales Cricket Board do?

The England and Wales Cricket Board is the governing body for cricket in England and Wales, founded in 1997. It runs the England men's, women's and disability teams and oversees domestic competitions including the County Championship, the Vitality Blast and The Hundred. Most of its income comes from broadcasting rights, international match tickets and sponsorship, which it shares with the first-class counties and uses to fund the recreational and youth game.

In brief: cricket governing body · England teams and The Hundred · broadcasting and tickets · founded 1997

Source: England and Wales Cricket Board's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns England and Wales Cricket Board?

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited, company number 03251364, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs England and Wales Cricket Board?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for England and Wales Cricket Board Limited.

All 11 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Alan Peter Dickinson9 May 2018
Katie Bickerstaffe14 August 2019
Rohinton Minoo Kalifa24 November 2020
Richard William Thompson1 September 2022
Richard Alan Gould2 February 2023
Jennifer Elizabeth Owen Adams1 May 2023
Ebony Rainford-Brent1 May 2023
Gareth John Williams1 May 2023
Pete Ackerley1 June 2023
Penny Avis31 July 2023
Nimesh Kataria8 April 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did England and Wales Cricket Board file?

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited reported turnover of £409m in the year to January 2026. That was up 28.0% on £320m the year before.

It reported 486 employees. The year before it reported 535.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £538m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £3m the year before.

Staff costs came to £75m. That is an average of £154,000 a head. It ended the year with £381m at the bank and net assets of £444m. It paid dividends of £160m.

Jan 2026£131.50£131.50 profit
Jan 2025£25.05£74.15£0.80 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Jan 2025
Turnover£409m£320m
Pre-tax profit£538m (filed)£3m (filed)
Employees486535
Staff costs£75m£80m
Average staff cost per head£154,000£150,000
Bank and cash£381m£263m
Net assets£444m£55m
Dividends paid£160m
Interest received£15m
Directors' pay£1.7m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against England and Wales Cricket Board?

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

England and Wales Cricket Board files as England and Wales Cricket Board Limited, with turnover of £409m in its latest filed year.

Questions about England and Wales Cricket Board

What does England and Wales Cricket Board do?

The England and Wales Cricket Board is the governing body for cricket in England and Wales, founded in 1997. It runs the England men's, women's and disability teams and oversees domestic competitions including the County Championship, the Vitality Blast and The Hundred. Most of its income comes from broadcasting rights, international match tickets and sponsorship, which it shares with the first-class counties and uses to fund the recreational and youth game.

Who owns England and Wales Cricket Board?

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does England and Wales Cricket Board make?

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited reported turnover of £409m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £538m.

How many people work at England and Wales Cricket Board?

England and Wales Cricket Board Limited reported 486 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs England and Wales Cricket Board?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for England and Wales Cricket Board Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from England and Wales Cricket Board Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 03251364, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “England and Wales Cricket Board: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/ecb/. Figures from Companies House filings for ENGLAND AND WALES CRICKET BOARD LIMITED (03251364).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings