Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed July 2025

Cleo: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Cleo Ai Ltd. has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2024 it reported turnover of £101m.

£101m
Turnover, up 105.9%
-£0.6m
Pre-tax profit
294
Employees
Registered name
CLEO AI LTD.
Company number
09864205
Status
Active
Incorporated
9 November 2015
Registered office area
North London
Industry code on the register
63990: Information service activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 3 July 2025

What does Cleo do?

Cleo is a personal finance app that uses an AI chatbot to help people budget, save and manage their money through conversation. It makes money mainly from paid subscriptions, which unlock features such as small cash advances and credit-building tools, while a basic version is free. It is known for its informal, humorous tone aimed at younger users, and most of its customers are in the United States. It was founded in London in 2016 by Barnaby Hussey-Yeo.

In brief: AI money app · budgeting and cash advances · subscriptions · founded in London, 2016

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: web.meetcleo.com.

Who owns Cleo?

Cleo Ai Ltd., company number 09864205, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Cleo?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Cleo Ai Ltd..

All 5 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Barnaby Hussey-Yeo9 November 2015
Robert Warriner Moffat11 February 2019
Tomas Leonardo Mendoza-Gutfreund11 June 2020
Anthony Keusters5 April 2022
Oakwood Corporate Secretary Limited19 July 2022

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Cleo file?

Cleo Ai Ltd. reported turnover of £101m in the year to December 2024. That was up 105.9% on £49m the year before.

It reported 294 employees. The year before it reported 218.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.6m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £12m the year before.

Staff costs came to £32m. That is an average of £109,000 a head. It ended the year with £19m at the bank and net assets of £27m.

Dec 2024£31.78£65.91£0.57 loss
Dec 2023£42.26£82.27£24.53 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£101m£49m
Pre-tax profit-£0.6m (filed)-£12m (filed)
Employees294218
Staff costs£32m£21m
Average staff cost per head£109,000£95,000
Bank and cash£19m£24m
Net assets£27m£26m
Interest paid£3m
Interest received£0.4m
Directors' pay£0.2m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Cleo?

Cleo Ai Ltd. has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc Innovation Bank Limited13 November 2023
Silicon Valley Bank22 December 2020

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Cleo files as Cleo Ai Ltd., with turnover of £101m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Cleo

What does Cleo do?

Cleo is a personal finance app that uses an AI chatbot to help people budget, save and manage their money through conversation. It makes money mainly from paid subscriptions, which unlock features such as small cash advances and credit-building tools, while a basic version is free. It is known for its informal, humorous tone aimed at younger users, and most of its customers are in the United States. It was founded in London in 2016 by Barnaby Hussey-Yeo.

Who owns Cleo?

Cleo Ai Ltd. has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Cleo make?

Cleo Ai Ltd. reported turnover of £101m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.6m.

How many people work at Cleo?

Cleo Ai Ltd. reported 294 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Cleo?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Cleo Ai Ltd.. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Cleo Ai Ltd.'s filings at Companies House, company number 09864205, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Cleo: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/cleo/. Figures from Companies House filings for CLEO AI LTD. (09864205).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings