Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed October 2025

CityFibre: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Cityfibre Holdco Limited. In the year to December 2024 CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited reported turnover of £134m.

£134m
Turnover, up 34.3%
-£360m
Pre-tax profit
1,594
Employees
Registered name
CITYFIBRE INFRASTRUCTURE HOLDINGS LIMITED
Company number
08772997
Status
Active
Incorporated
13 November 2013
Registered office area
West-Central London
Industry code on the register
61900: Telecommunications
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 7 October 2025

What does CityFibre do?

CityFibre builds and runs full-fibre broadband networks in towns and cities across the UK, selling access on a wholesale basis to broadband providers rather than to households directly. It makes money from the fees internet providers pay to use its network to serve their own customers, as well as from connections for businesses and public sector sites. It positions itself as an alternative national network to Openreach. It was founded in 2011 and is privately owned by infrastructure investors.

In brief: full-fibre network · wholesale only · alternative to Openreach · privately owned

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: cityfibre.com.

Who owns CityFibre?

CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited
CityFibre · company 08772997
Cityfibre Holdco Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Cityfibre Holdco Limited as the person with significant control of CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited, company number 08772997. Cityfibre Holdco Limited is itself company number 11722699.

That places CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs CityFibre?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Christopher Gawn10 December 2013
Simon Holden11 March 2019
Nicholas James Dunn20 January 2021
Sharon Emma Flood12 September 2025
Steve Holliday12 September 2025
Mark Nicholas Morris24 September 2025
Fraser James Pearce1 August 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did CityFibre file?

CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited reported turnover of £134m in the year to December 2024. That was up 34.3% on £100m the year before.

It reported 1,594 employees. The year before it reported 1,876.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £360m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £316m the year before.

Staff costs came to £142m. That is an average of £89,000 a head. It ended the year with £85m at the bank and net assets of £538m.

Dec 2024£106.12£208.47£54.68£269.28 loss
Dec 2023£147.93£268.69£316.62 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket; where it ends in an arrow the costs run past £200. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£134m£100m
Pre-tax profit-£360m (filed)-£316m (filed)
Employees1,5941,876
Staff costs£142m£147m
Average staff cost per head£89,000£79,000
Bank and cash£85m£137m
Net assets£538m£710m
Interest paid£279m
Interest received£95m
Directors' pay£4m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against CityFibre?

CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited has registered 12 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Lloyds Bank PLC (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees)15 September 2025
Lloyds Bank PLC, New Uberior House, 11 Earl Grey Street, Edinburgh, EH3 9BN as Security Agent (As Trustee for Each of the Secured Creditors)6 June 2022

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

CityFibre files as CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited, whose person with significant control is Cityfibre Holdco Limited, with turnover of £134m in its latest filed year.

Questions about CityFibre

What does CityFibre do?

CityFibre builds and runs full-fibre broadband networks in towns and cities across the UK, selling access on a wholesale basis to broadband providers rather than to households directly. It makes money from the fees internet providers pay to use its network to serve their own customers, as well as from connections for businesses and public sector sites. It positions itself as an alternative national network to Openreach. It was founded in 2011 and is privately owned by infrastructure investors.

Who owns CityFibre?

The Companies House register records Cityfibre Holdco Limited as the person with significant control of CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited.

How much does CityFibre make?

CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited reported turnover of £134m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £360m.

How many people work at CityFibre?

CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited reported 1,594 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs CityFibre?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from CityFibre Infrastructure Holdings Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 08772997, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “CityFibre: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/cityfibre/. Figures from Companies House filings for CITYFIBRE INFRASTRUCTURE HOLDINGS LIMITED (08772997).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings