Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed September 2026

Celtic Manor: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

The Celtic Manor Resort Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Sir Terence Hedley Matthews. In the year to December 2025 The Celtic Manor Resort Limited reported turnover of £85m.

£85m
Turnover, up 13.1%
-£2m
Pre-tax profit
1,660
Employees
Registered name
THE CELTIC MANOR RESORT LIMITED
Company number
08428620
Status
Active
Incorporated
4 March 2013
Registered office area
Newport
Industry code on the register
55100: Accommodation
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 2 September 2026

What does Celtic Manor do?

Celtic Manor is a five-star resort hotel near Newport in South Wales, selling hotel stays, golf, spa, dining and conference space. Set in the Usk Valley, it has three championship golf courses (the Twenty Ten, the Roman Road and the Montgomerie), the Forum Spa and health club, several restaurants, self-catering Hunter Lodges and the Manor House hotel on the grounds. Its Ian Edwards Conference Centre holds up to 1,200 people, and the resort earns from rooms, golf, leisure memberships, events and weddings. The Twenty Ten course hosted the 2010 Ryder Cup, and the resort is part of The Celtic Collection of hotels.

In brief: resort hotel · three championship golf courses · spa and conference centre · Newport, South Wales

Source: Celtic Manor's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Celtic Manor?

The Celtic Manor Resort Limited
Celtic Manor · company 08428620
Sir Terence Hedley Matthews
Individual

The Companies House register records Sir Terence Hedley Matthews as the person with significant control of The Celtic Manor Resort Limited, company number 08428620.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Celtic Manor?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for The Celtic Manor Resort Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Paul Chiarelli4 March 2013
Sir Terence Hedley Matthews4 March 2013
Mark Colcomb4 March 2013
Dylan Christopher Matthews4 March 2013

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Celtic Manor file?

The Celtic Manor Resort Limited reported turnover of £85m in the year to December 2025. That was up 13.1% on £75m the year before.

It reported 1,660 employees. The year before it reported 1,577.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £2m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £11m the year before.

Staff costs came to £45m. That is an average of £27,000 a head. It ended the year with £6m at the bank and net assets of £73m.

Dec 2025£52.95£45.36£2.68 loss
Dec 2024£52.00£63.13£15.13 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£85m£75m
Pre-tax profit-£2m (filed)-£11m (filed)
Employees1,6601,577
Staff costs£45m£39m
Average staff cost per head£27,000£25,000
Bank and cash£6m£11m
Net assets£73m£70m
Interest paid£4m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Celtic Manor?

The Celtic Manor Resort Limited has registered 15 charges at Companies House, of which 6 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 6 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC (As Security Agent)19 April 2024
Cbre Loan Services Limited (As Security Agent)4 October 2023
Barclays Bank PLC (As Security Agent)27 March 2023
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent9 December 2020
Barclays Bank PLC5 July 2019
Barclays Bank PLC6 February 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Celtic Manor files as The Celtic Manor Resort Limited, whose person with significant control is Sir Terence Hedley Matthews, with turnover of £85m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Celtic Manor

What does Celtic Manor do?

Celtic Manor is a five-star resort hotel near Newport in South Wales, selling hotel stays, golf, spa, dining and conference space. Set in the Usk Valley, it has three championship golf courses (the Twenty Ten, the Roman Road and the Montgomerie), the Forum Spa and health club, several restaurants, self-catering Hunter Lodges and the Manor House hotel on the grounds. Its Ian Edwards Conference Centre holds up to 1,200 people, and the resort earns from rooms, golf, leisure memberships, events and weddings. The Twenty Ten course hosted the 2010 Ryder Cup, and the resort is part of The Celtic Collection of hotels.

Who owns Celtic Manor?

The Companies House register records Sir Terence Hedley Matthews as the person with significant control of The Celtic Manor Resort Limited.

How much does Celtic Manor make?

The Celtic Manor Resort Limited reported turnover of £85m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £2m.

How many people work at Celtic Manor?

The Celtic Manor Resort Limited reported 1,660 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Celtic Manor?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for The Celtic Manor Resort Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from The Celtic Manor Resort Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 08428620, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Celtic Manor: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/celtic-manor/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE CELTIC MANOR RESORT LIMITED (08428620).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings