Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

Blair Drummond Safari Park: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Scottish African Safari Park Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr James Francis Muir. In the year to December 2024 Scottish African Safari Park Limited reported turnover of £10m.

Blair Drummond Safari Park has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£10m
Turnover, up 4.7%
£0.8m
Pre-tax profit
226
Employees
Registered name
SCOTTISH AFRICAN SAFARI PARK LIMITED
Company number
00977880
Status
Active
Incorporated
23 April 1970
Registered office area
Falkirk
Industry code on the register
91040: Libraries, archives, museums and other cultural activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 30 September 2025

What does Blair Drummond Safari Park do?

Scottish African Safari Park runs Blair Drummond Safari Park near Stirling, a drive-through and walk-around safari park. Sir John Muir opened it in 1970 and the Muir family still owns and runs it as a self-funded business. It earns money from online entry tickets, seasonal memberships, animal experiences and adoptions, food and drink, and venue hire for parties, camping and corporate events.

In brief: safari park · Stirling · family owned · tickets and memberships

Source: Blair Drummond Safari Park's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Blair Drummond Safari Park?

Scottish African Safari Park Limited
Blair Drummond Safari Park · company 00977880
Mr James Francis Muir
Individual

The Companies House register records Mr James Francis Muir as the person with significant control of Scottish African Safari Park Limited, company number 00977880.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Blair Drummond Safari Park?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Scottish African Safari Park Limited.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
William Anthony Nathaniel Muir17 September 2001
James Francis Muir17 September 2001
John Alexander Hector Muir17 September 2001
James Francis Muir17 September 2001
Belinda Aird11 November 2024
John Corse11 November 2024
David Stewart Robertson22 May 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Blair Drummond Safari Park file?

Scottish African Safari Park Limited reported turnover of £10m in the year to December 2024. That was up 4.7% on £9m the year before.

It reported 226 employees. The year before it reported 232.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.8m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £0.5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £4m. That is an average of £19,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.5m at the bank and net assets of £7m. It paid dividends of £0.3m.

Dec 2024£44.89£47.08£7.73 profit
Dec 2023£44.95£49.29£5.75 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£10m£9m
Pre-tax profit£0.8m (filed)£0.5m (filed)
Employees226232
Staff costs£4m£4m
Average staff cost per head£19,000£18,000
Bank and cash£1.5m£1.9m
Net assets£7m£6m
Dividends paid£0.3m£0.3m
Interest paid£29k
Directors' pay£0.2m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Blair Drummond Safari Park?

Scottish African Safari Park Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC21 March 1988
Clydesdale Bank Public Limited Company11 April 1985

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Blair Drummond Safari Park files as Scottish African Safari Park Limited, whose person with significant control is Mr James Francis Muir, with turnover of £10m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Blair Drummond Safari Park

What does Blair Drummond Safari Park do?

Scottish African Safari Park runs Blair Drummond Safari Park near Stirling, a drive-through and walk-around safari park. Sir John Muir opened it in 1970 and the Muir family still owns and runs it as a self-funded business. It earns money from online entry tickets, seasonal memberships, animal experiences and adoptions, food and drink, and venue hire for parties, camping and corporate events.

Who owns Blair Drummond Safari Park?

The Companies House register records Mr James Francis Muir as the person with significant control of Scottish African Safari Park Limited.

How much does Blair Drummond Safari Park make?

Scottish African Safari Park Limited reported turnover of £10m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.8m.

How many people work at Blair Drummond Safari Park?

Scottish African Safari Park Limited reported 226 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Blair Drummond Safari Park?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Scottish African Safari Park Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Scottish African Safari Park Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00977880, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Blair Drummond Safari Park: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/blair-drummond/. Figures from Companies House filings for SCOTTISH AFRICAN SAFARI PARK LIMITED (00977880).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings