Birds Bakery: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mrs Lesley Bird. In the year to January 2026 Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £36m.
- Registered name
- BIRDS BAKERY HOLDINGS LTD
- Company number
- 14311109
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 22 August 2022
- Registered office area
- Derby
- Industry code on the register
- 10710: Manufacture of food products
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to January 2026, filed 9 August 2026
What does Birds Bakery do?
Birds Bakery is a bakery chain based in Derby, selling bread, cakes, pies, sausage rolls and cream cakes from its own shops. It was founded in Derby in 1919 by three brothers: a baker, a butcher and a confectioner. It makes its products from scratch using local ingredients, and customers can also order online for click and collect or buy through delivery apps.
In brief: bakery chain · bread, cakes and pies · own shops · Derby
Source: Birds Bakery's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Birds Bakery?
The Companies House register records Mrs Lesley Bird as the person with significant control of Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd, company number 14311109.
The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Birds Bakery?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Lesley Bird | 22 August 2022 |
| Linda Kathleen Bird | 22 September 2022 |
| Jamie Paul Robert Bird | 22 September 2022 |
| Alexander William Cameron Bird | 7 November 2022 |
| Andrew Richard Thomas | 1 September 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Birds Bakery file?
Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £36m in the year to January 2026. That was up 2.1% on £35m the year before.
It reported 770 employees. The year before it reported 787.
Staff costs came to £17m. That is an average of £22,000 a head. It ended the year with £15m at the bank and net assets of £22m. It paid dividends of £3m.
| Measure | Jan 2026 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £36m | £35m |
| Pre-tax profit | £2m (filed) | |
| Employees | 770 | 787 |
| Staff costs | £17m | £16m |
| Average staff cost per head | £22,000 | £21,000 |
| Bank and cash | £15m | £17m |
| Net assets | £22m | £23m |
| Dividends paid | £3m | |
| Interest paid | £45k | |
| Interest received | £0.5m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.4m |
Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Birds Bakery files as Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd, whose person with significant control is Mrs Lesley Bird, with turnover of £36m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Birds Bakery
What does Birds Bakery do?
Birds Bakery is a bakery chain based in Derby, selling bread, cakes, pies, sausage rolls and cream cakes from its own shops. It was founded in Derby in 1919 by three brothers: a baker, a butcher and a confectioner. It makes its products from scratch using local ingredients, and customers can also order online for click and collect or buy through delivery apps.
Who owns Birds Bakery?
The Companies House register records Mrs Lesley Bird as the person with significant control of Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd.
How much does Birds Bakery make?
Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £36m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £2m.
How many people work at Birds Bakery?
Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd reported 770 employees in the year to January 2026.
Who runs Birds Bakery?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Birds Bakery Holdings Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 14311109, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Birds Bakery: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/birds-bakery/. Figures from Companies House filings for BIRDS BAKERY HOLDINGS LTD (14311109).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the high street bakeries: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Wetherspoons: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greggs: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McDonald's: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks