Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts

Betfred: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Betfred Group Limited. In the 17 months to March 2025 Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited reported turnover of £867m.

These accounts cover 17 months, not the usual 12, so Betfred's turnover growth against the year before is not a like-for-like comparison.

£867m
Turnover, up 100.7%
£93m
Pre-tax profit
7,659
Employees
Registered name
DONE BROTHERS (CASH BETTING) LIMITED
Company number
01277703
Status
Active
Incorporated
17 September 1976
Registered office area
Warrington
Industry code on the register
92000: Gambling and betting activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
17 months to March 2025, filed date not recorded

What does Betfred do?

Betfred is a bookmaker that takes bets on sport, horse racing and other events through its high street betting shops and online. It makes money from the margin on bets, plus online casino, bingo and gaming machine income. The business was founded in Salford in 1967 by brothers Fred and Peter Done, remains family-owned and is based in Warrington, Cheshire.

In brief: bookmaker · betting shops and online · family-owned · founded in Salford

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: betfred.com.

Who owns Betfred?

Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited
Betfred · company 01277703
Betfred Group Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Betfred Group Limited as the person with significant control of Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited, company number 01277703. Betfred Group Limited is itself company number 02578161.

That places Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Betfred?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Nicola Joan Barr6 October 2016
Steven Longden2 December 2020
Joanne Louise Whittaker21 September 2023
Danielle Anne Johnson Hart1 January 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Betfred file?

This accounting period ran for 17 months because the company changed its year end, so the figures are not directly comparable with a twelve-month year.

Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited reported turnover of £867m in the 17 months to March 2025. That was up 100.7% on £432m the year before.

It reported 7,659 employees. The year before it reported 4,879.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £93m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £36m the year before.

Staff costs came to £303m. That is an average of £40,000 a head. It ended the year with £11m at the bank and net assets of £72m.

Mar 2025£34.99£54.12£10.69 profit
Sep 2023£37.02£71.33£8.35 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Sep 2023
Turnover£867m£432m
Pre-tax profit£93m (filed)-£36m (filed)
Employees7,6594,879
Staff costs£303m£160m
Average staff cost per head£40,000£33,000
Bank and cash£11m£13m
Net assets£72m£42m
Dividends paidn/d£48m
Interest paid£1.7m
Interest received£1.0m
Directors' pay£2m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Betfred?

Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited has registered 26 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
National Westminister Bank PLC (As Security Trustee for the Secured Parties (as Defined in the Instrument))14 October 2025
National Westminster Bank PLC as Security Agent25 October 2022

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Betfred files as Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited, whose person with significant control is Betfred Group Limited, with turnover of £867m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Betfred

What does Betfred do?

Betfred is a bookmaker that takes bets on sport, horse racing and other events through its high street betting shops and online. It makes money from the margin on bets, plus online casino, bingo and gaming machine income. The business was founded in Salford in 1967 by brothers Fred and Peter Done, remains family-owned and is based in Warrington, Cheshire.

Who owns Betfred?

The Companies House register records Betfred Group Limited as the person with significant control of Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited.

How much does Betfred make?

Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited reported turnover of £867m in the 17 months to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £93m.

How many people work at Betfred?

Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited reported 7,659 employees in the 17 months to March 2025.

Who runs Betfred?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Done Brothers (Cash Betting) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01277703, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Betfred: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/betfred/. Figures from Companies House filings for DONE BROTHERS (CASH BETTING) LIMITED (01277703).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings