Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed April 2026

Bannatyne: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

The Bannatyne Group Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr Duncan Walker Bannatyne. In the year to December 2025 The Bannatyne Group Limited reported turnover of £158m.

£158m
Turnover, up 5.5%
£16m
Pre-tax profit
2,789
Employees
Registered name
THE BANNATYNE GROUP LIMITED
Company number
09618868
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 June 2015
Registered office area
Darlington
Industry code on the register
93130: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 15 April 2026

What does Bannatyne do?

The Bannatyne Group runs health clubs, spas and hotels. Most of its income comes from health club memberships, with spa days, treatments and hotel stays on top, and its spas work in partnership with the skincare brand Elemis. It was founded by the entrepreneur Duncan Bannatyne.

In brief: health clubs, spas and hotels · membership income · founder-owned group

Source: Bannatyne's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Bannatyne?

The Bannatyne Group Limited
Bannatyne · company 09618868
Mr Duncan Walker Bannatyne
Individual

The Companies House register records Mr Duncan Walker Bannatyne as the person with significant control of The Bannatyne Group Limited, company number 09618868.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Bannatyne?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for The Bannatyne Group Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Duncan Walker Bannatyne2 June 2015
Karen Wilkinson1 July 2021
Victoria Lyndsey Brown30 June 2022

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Bannatyne file?

The Bannatyne Group Limited reported turnover of £158m in the year to December 2025. That was up 5.5% on £150m the year before.

It reported 2,789 employees. The year before it reported 2,773.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £16m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £14m the year before.

Staff costs came to £59m. That is an average of £21,000 a head. It ended the year with £15m at the bank and net assets of £34m. It paid dividends of £6m.

Dec 2025£37.52£45.24£9.97 profit
Dec 2024£36.61£53.74£9.65 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£158m£150m
Pre-tax profit£16m (filed)£14m (filed)
Employees2,7892,773
Staff costs£59m£55m
Average staff cost per head£21,000£20,000
Bank and cash£15m£14m
Net assets£34m£28m
Dividends paid£6m
Interest paid£11m
Directors' pay£1.0m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Bannatyne?

The Bannatyne Group Limited has registered 5 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
National Westminster Bank PLC27 March 2026
National Westminster Bank PLC22 September 2023
National Westminster Bank PLC8 April 2021
National Westminster Bank PLC6 November 2020
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC (As Security Trustee for the Secured Parties (as Defined in the Instrument))28 December 2016

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Bannatyne files as The Bannatyne Group Limited, whose person with significant control is Mr Duncan Walker Bannatyne, with turnover of £158m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Bannatyne

What does Bannatyne do?

The Bannatyne Group runs health clubs, spas and hotels. Most of its income comes from health club memberships, with spa days, treatments and hotel stays on top, and its spas work in partnership with the skincare brand Elemis. It was founded by the entrepreneur Duncan Bannatyne.

Who owns Bannatyne?

The Companies House register records Mr Duncan Walker Bannatyne as the person with significant control of The Bannatyne Group Limited.

How much does Bannatyne make?

The Bannatyne Group Limited reported turnover of £158m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £16m.

How many people work at Bannatyne?

The Bannatyne Group Limited reported 2,789 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Bannatyne?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for The Bannatyne Group Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from The Bannatyne Group Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 09618868, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Bannatyne: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/bannatyne/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE BANNATYNE GROUP LIMITED (09618868).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings