Admiral Taverns: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Admiral Taverns Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited. In the year to June 2025 Admiral Taverns Limited reported turnover of £68m.
- Registered name
- ADMIRAL TAVERNS LIMITED
- Company number
- 05438628
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 28 April 2005
- Registered office area
- East-Central London
- Industry code on the register
- 56101: Food and beverage service activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to June 2025, filed 24 February 2026
What does Admiral Taverns do?
Admiral Taverns is a pub company that owns community pubs and lets them to licensees who run them as their own businesses. Most of its pubs are wet-led, meaning they make most of their money from drinks rather than food. Licensees take a tenancy or lease, or run a pub under a managed agreement, and receive support with marketing, training and property. The company was set up in 2003 and is based in Chester.
In brief: pub company · community pubs · tenancies and leases · Chester-based
Source: Admiral Taverns' own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns Admiral Taverns?
The Companies House register records Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Admiral Taverns Limited, company number 05438628. Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited is itself company number 07052594.
That places Admiral Taverns Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Admiral Taverns?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Admiral Taverns Limited.
All 4 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| A G Secretarial Limited | 28 April 2005 |
| Andrew Francis James Clifford | 9 October 2006 |
| Christopher Michael Jowsey | 15 July 2019 |
| Nicholas Peter Sedgewick Gray | 2 March 2020 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Admiral Taverns file?
Admiral Taverns Limited reported turnover of £68m in the year to June 2025. That was up 40.8% on £48m the year before.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £2m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £0.6m the year before.
It ended the year with £0.3m at the bank and net assets of £220m.
| Measure | Jun 2025 | May 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £68m | £48m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£2m (filed) | £0.6m (filed) |
| Bank and cash | £0.3m | £88k |
| Net assets | £220m | £167m |
| Interest paid | £2k |
Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Admiral Taverns?
Admiral Taverns Limited has registered 29 charges at Companies House, of which 13 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 13 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Glas Trust Corporation Limited as Security Trustee | 13 April 2026 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 27 November 2019 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 24 June 2016 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 11 February 2016 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 19 January 2016 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 22 December 2015 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 6 June 2015 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 20 February 2015 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 22 July 2014 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 9 May 2014 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 3 May 2014 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 16 October 2013 |
| Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited | 12 July 2013 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Admiral Taverns files as Admiral Taverns Limited, whose person with significant control is Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited, with turnover of £68m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Admiral Taverns
What does Admiral Taverns do?
Admiral Taverns is a pub company that owns community pubs and lets them to licensees who run them as their own businesses. Most of its pubs are wet-led, meaning they make most of their money from drinks rather than food. Licensees take a tenancy or lease, or run a pub under a managed agreement, and receive support with marketing, training and property. The company was set up in 2003 and is based in Chester.
Who owns Admiral Taverns?
The Companies House register records Admiral Taverns Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Admiral Taverns Limited.
How much does Admiral Taverns make?
Admiral Taverns Limited reported turnover of £68m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £2m.
Who runs Admiral Taverns?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Admiral Taverns Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Admiral Taverns Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 05438628, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Admiral Taverns: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/admiral-taverns/. Figures from Companies House filings for ADMIRAL TAVERNS LIMITED (05438628).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the pub groups: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks