Accounts to June 2025 · Group accounts · Filed December 2025

Aberdeen: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Aberdeen Football Club Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr David Alexander Cormack. In the year to June 2025 Aberdeen Football Club Limited reported turnover of £22m.

£22m
Turnover, down 8.1%
-£2m
Pre-tax profit
183
Employees
Registered name
ABERDEEN FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
Company number
SC005364
Status
Active
Incorporated
27 May 1903
Registered office area
Aberdeen
Industry code on the register
93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to June 2025, filed 31 December 2025

What does Aberdeen do?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited is the group behind Aberdeen FC, a professional football club founded in 1903 and based at Pittodrie Stadium. It fields men's and women's teams in Scottish football. The club earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship, merchandise, its RedTV streaming service and events held at Pittodrie. Separate community and heritage trusts carry out its charitable work.

In brief: professional football club · Aberdeen · tickets, broadcasting and merchandise · founded 1903

Source: Aberdeen's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Aberdeen?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited
Aberdeen · company SC005364
Mr David Alexander Cormack
Individual

The Companies House register records Mr David Alexander Cormack as the person with significant control of Aberdeen Football Club Limited, company number SC005364.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Aberdeen?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Aberdeen Football Club Limited.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Roy Macdonald Johnston28 June 2013
David Alexander Cormack13 June 2017
Thomas Joseph Crotty29 March 2019
Kevin Duncan Maciver10 July 2020
William Garner9 May 2022
Dimitrios Efstathiou8 August 2022
David Ernest Lawrie10 February 2025
Rachel Louise Corsie23 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Aberdeen file?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited reported turnover of £22m in the year to June 2025. That was down 8.1% on £24m the year before.

It reported 183 employees. The year before it reported 172.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £2m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £0.9m the year before.

Staff costs came to £15m. That is an average of £83,000 a head. It ended the year with £9m at the bank and net assets of £25m.

Jun 2025£69.58£39.36£9.51 loss
Jun 2024£53.92£49.80£3.72 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJun 2025Jun 2024
Turnover£22m£24m
Pre-tax profit-£2m (filed)-£0.9m (filed)
Employees183172
Staff costs£15m£13m
Average staff cost per head£83,000£74,000
Bank and cash£9m£2m
Net assets£25m£19m
Interest paid£0.1m
Interest received£9k
Directors' pay£0.3m

Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Aberdeen?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited has registered 10 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Aberdeen files as Aberdeen Football Club Limited, whose person with significant control is Mr David Alexander Cormack, with turnover of £22m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Aberdeen

What does Aberdeen do?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited is the group behind Aberdeen FC, a professional football club founded in 1903 and based at Pittodrie Stadium. It fields men's and women's teams in Scottish football. The club earns money from match tickets and season tickets, broadcasting and prize money, sponsorship, merchandise, its RedTV streaming service and events held at Pittodrie. Separate community and heritage trusts carry out its charitable work.

Who owns Aberdeen?

The Companies House register records Mr David Alexander Cormack as the person with significant control of Aberdeen Football Club Limited.

How much does Aberdeen make?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited reported turnover of £22m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £2m.

How many people work at Aberdeen?

Aberdeen Football Club Limited reported 183 employees in the year to June 2025.

Who runs Aberdeen?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Aberdeen Football Club Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Aberdeen Football Club Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC005364, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Aberdeen: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/aberdeen-fc/. Figures from Companies House filings for ABERDEEN FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED (SC005364).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings