Battle · 3 companies
Indoor snow slopes
Fresh powder, or running out of snow?
SnowCentres leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. SnowCentres is the biggest by turnover at £22m, against £16m at Snozone. Snozone keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £32.53 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 6 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. SnowCentres files group accounts that include subsidiaries; SnowDome and Snozone file for a single company, which flatters the group on size. Snozone's turnover growth looks like a one-off in the latest accounts (a gain inside a group, an acquisition or a longer accounting period), so it is shown but not counted when picking winners.
Accounts compared: SnowCentres to Sep 2025 · SnowDome to Sep 2025 · Snozone to Mar 2025
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SnowCentresSnowCentres Limited | £22m | +2.8% | £7m | 31.1% | 668 | £12,000 | £32,000 | £35m | £11m | Sep 2025 | Group |
| 2 | SnozoneSnozone Limited | £16m | +51.6% | £5m | 32.5% | 215 | £24,000 | £77,000 | £20m | £0.9m | Mar 2025 | Single company |
| 3 | SnowDomeSnowDome Limited | £11m | +2.5% | £1.9m | 17.2% | 205 | £16,000 | £54,000 | £6m | £0.9m | Sep 2025 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
SnowCentres
£22m
Most pre-tax profit
SnowCentres
£7m
Highest profit margin
Snozone
32.5%
Fastest-growing turnover
SnowCentres
+2.8%
Biggest employer
SnowCentres
668 staff
Highest pay per head
Snozone
£24,000
Most turnover per head
Snozone
£77,000
Largest net assets
SnowCentres
£35m
Most cash
SnowCentres
£11m
The Takeaway
- Snozone converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £32.53 reaches pre-tax profit, against £17.24 at SnowDome.
- SnowCentres is the largest on the top line, £22m of turnover, 1.3x Snozone's £16m.
- SnowCentres is growing fastest, turnover +2.8% on its own prior year.
- SnowCentres is the biggest employer with 668 people; Snozone pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £24,000.
- SnowCentres has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £35m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Snozone keeps the most: £32.53 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. SnowDome keeps the least, £17.24.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is SnowCentres (£22m), Snozone (£16m), SnowDome (£11m).
By headcount, SnowCentres leads with 668 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: SnowCentres to Sep 2025, SnowDome to Sep 2025, Snozone to Mar 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Snozone grew fastest, turnover +51.6% on its own prior year, ahead of SnowCentres (+2.8%), SnowDome (+2.5%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
SnowCentres employs the most, 668 people, against 215 at Snozone.
Snozone has the highest average staff cost, about £24,000 a head; SnowCentres the lowest, about £12,000.
Snozone brings in the most turnover per employee, about £77,000, against £32,000 at SnowCentres. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns SnowCentres →
SnowDome Limited · 03817394Held by Snowdome Incorporated Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns SnowDome →
Snozone Limited · 03988044Held by Snozone Holdings Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Snozone →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | SnowCentres | SnowDome | Snozone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | SNOWCENTRES LIMITED | SNOWDOME LIMITED | SNOZONE LIMITED |
| Company number | 06330688 | 03817394 | 03988044 |
| Incorporated | 2007 | 1999 | 2000 |
| Accounts filed | 25 June 2026 | 16 May 2026 | 30 December 2025 |
| Turnover, prior year | £21m | £11m | £11m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | £6m | £2m | £3m |
| Staff costs | £8m | £3m | £5m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 36.7% | 29.6% | 31.9% |
| Employees, prior year | 660 | 209 | 203 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | £10m | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 1 | 1 | 1 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Indoor snow slopes: common questions
Who is the biggest of SnowCentres, SnowDome or Snozone?
SnowCentres, with turnover of £22m in the year to September 2025.
Which makes the most profit?
SnowCentres: £7m pre-tax in the year to September 2025.
Which employs the most people?
SnowCentres, with 668 employees in its latest accounts.
SnowCentres or SnowDome: which is bigger?
SnowCentres, with turnover of £22m against £11m at SnowDome on their latest filings. On margin, SnowCentres keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
SnowCentres or Snozone: which is bigger?
SnowCentres, with turnover of £22m against £16m at Snozone on their latest filings. On margin, Snozone keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
SnowDome or Snozone: which is bigger?
Snozone, with turnover of £16m against £11m at SnowDome on their latest filings. On margin, Snozone keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
UK holiday parks
Making waves or washed out: the great British staycation showdown
Center Parcs · Butlin's · Haven
3 companies compared →
LEISURECinema chains
Blockbuster, or straight to streaming?
Cineworld · Odeon · Vue · Everyman · Picturehouse · Showcase
6 companies compared →
LEISUREFestivals
Headliner, or second stage?
Festival Republic · Glastonbury · Edinburgh Festival Fringe · Manchester International Festival
4 companies compared →
LEISURECompetitive socialising venues
Darts, golf and ping pong with a bar attached. Who's scoring?
Flight Club · Topgolf · Puttshack · Electric Shuffle · Bounce · Swingers
6 companies compared →