Battle · 3 companies
UK race circuits
Pole position, or stuck in the gravel?
Goodwood Road Racing leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Silverstone is the biggest by turnover at £104m, against £88m at Goodwood Road Racing. MotorSport Vision keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £19.31 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.
Accounts compared: Silverstone to Dec 2024 · MotorSport Vision to Dec 2024 · Goodwood Road Racing to Dec 2024
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SilverstoneSilverstone Circuits Limited | £104m | +8.7% | £14m | 13.5% | 229 | £57,000 | £456,000 | £38m | £46m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
| 2 | Goodwood Road RacingGoodwood Road Racing Company Limited | £88m | +12.2% | £16m | 18.0% | 387 | £31,000 | £228,000 | £49m | £0.4m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
| 3 | MotorSport VisionMotorSport Vision Limited | £51m | -2.3% | £10m | 19.3% | 694 | £18,000 | £73,000 | £19m | £3m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
Silverstone
£104m
Most pre-tax profit
Goodwood Road Racing
£16m
Highest profit margin
MotorSport Vision
19.3%
Fastest-growing turnover
Goodwood Road Racing
+12.2%
Biggest employer
MotorSport Vision
694 staff
Highest pay per head
Silverstone
£57,000
Most turnover per head
Silverstone
£456,000
Largest net assets
Goodwood Road Racing
£49m
Most cash
Silverstone
£46m
The Takeaway
- MotorSport Vision converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £19.31 reaches pre-tax profit, against £13.51 at Silverstone.
- Silverstone is the largest on the top line, £104m of turnover, 1.2x Goodwood Road Racing's £88m.
- Goodwood Road Racing is growing fastest, turnover +12.2% on its own prior year. MotorSport Vision went backwards.
- MotorSport Vision is the biggest employer with 694 people; Silverstone pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £57,000.
- Goodwood Road Racing has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £49m, while Silverstone holds the most cash at £46m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
MotorSport Vision keeps the most: £19.31 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Silverstone keeps the least, £13.51.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Silverstone (£104m), Goodwood Road Racing (£88m), MotorSport Vision (£51m).
By headcount, MotorSport Vision leads with 694 employees.
The accounting periods all end in the same month. All are on the same filing basis.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Goodwood Road Racing grew fastest, turnover +12.2% on its own prior year, ahead of Silverstone (+8.7%), MotorSport Vision (-2.3%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
MotorSport Vision employs the most, 694 people, against 387 at Goodwood Road Racing.
Silverstone has the highest average staff cost, about £57,000 a head; MotorSport Vision the lowest, about £18,000.
Silverstone brings in the most turnover per employee, about £456,000, against £73,000 at MotorSport Vision. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Silverstone →
MotorSport Vision Limited · 03446418Held by Msv Group Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns MotorSport Vision →
Goodwood Road Racing Company Limited · 00466176Held by Goodwood Estate Company Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control.
Who owns Goodwood Road Racing →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Silverstone | MotorSport Vision | Goodwood Road Racing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | SILVERSTONE CIRCUITS LIMITED | MOTORSPORT VISION LIMITED | GOODWOOD ROAD RACING COMPANY LIMITED |
| Company number | 00882843 | 03446418 | 00466176 |
| Incorporated | 1966 | 1997 | 1949 |
| Accounts filed | 1 October 2025 | 2 October 2025 | 3 October 2025 |
| Turnover, prior year | £96m | £52m | £79m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | £18m | £13m | £10m |
| Staff costs | £13m | £13m | £12m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 12.6% | 24.8% | 13.6% |
| Employees, prior year | 203 | 582 | 289 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | £29m | £7m |
| Charges outstanding | 1 | 1 | 0 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
UK race circuits: common questions
Who is the biggest of Silverstone, MotorSport Vision or Goodwood Road Racing?
Silverstone, with turnover of £104m in the year to December 2024.
Which makes the most profit?
Goodwood Road Racing: £16m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.
Which employs the most people?
MotorSport Vision, with 694 employees in its latest accounts.
Silverstone or MotorSport Vision: which is bigger?
Silverstone, with turnover of £104m against £51m at MotorSport Vision on their latest filings. On margin, MotorSport Vision keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Silverstone or Goodwood Road Racing: which is bigger?
Silverstone, with turnover of £104m against £88m at Goodwood Road Racing on their latest filings. On margin, Goodwood Road Racing keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
MotorSport Vision or Goodwood Road Racing: which is bigger?
Goodwood Road Racing, with turnover of £88m against £51m at MotorSport Vision on their latest filings. On margin, MotorSport Vision keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
Wimbledon or Silverstone: which of Britain's crown jewels is the bigger business?
VS Series MOTORSPORTF1 teams
Lights out and away we go: chequered flag, or stuck in the pits?
McLaren · Williams Racing · Mercedes F1 · Red Bull Racing · Aston Martin F1 · Alpine F1 · Haas F1
7 companies compared →
LEISUREUK holiday parks
Making waves or washed out: the great British staycation showdown
Center Parcs · Butlin's · Haven
3 companies compared →
LEISURECinema chains
Blockbuster, or straight to streaming?
Cineworld · Odeon · Vue · Everyman · Picturehouse · Showcase
6 companies compared →
BETTINGBookmakers
Place your bets: who has backed the winner, and who has lost their shirt?
Paddy Power and Betfair · Sky Bet · Ladbrokes Coral · Betfred · Bet365 · William Hill
6 companies compared →