VS Series

Pret A Manger v Leon

Sandwiches against salads: the food-to-go rivals

Pret A Manger leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Pret A Manger is the biggest by turnover at £705m, against £62m at Leon. Pret A Manger keeps more of every £100 it takes, £1.56 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months.

Accounts compared: Pret A Manger to Jan 2026 · Leon to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Pret A MangerPret A Manger (Europe) Limited £705m -4.1% £11m 1.6% 6,455 £30,000 £109,000 £65m £11m Jan 2026 Single company
2 LeonLeon Restaurants Limited £62m -3.8% -£8m -13.6% 1,120 £19,000 £56,000 -£30m £1.0m Dec 2024 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Pret A Manger converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £1.56 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £13.59 at Leon.
  2. Pret A Manger is the largest on the top line, £705m of turnover, 11.3x Leon's £62m.
  3. Leon is growing fastest, turnover -3.8% on its own prior year. Pret A Manger and Leon went backwards.
  4. Pret A Manger is the biggest employer with 6,455 people; Pret A Manger pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £30,000.
  5. Pret A Manger has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £65m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Pret A Manger keeps the most: £1.56 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Leon does worst, losing £13.59.

Financing bites hardest at Leon: £3.24 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £27.30 of every £100Payroll£27.30Financing: £2.06 of every £100Other costs: £69.08 of every £100Other costs£69.08Profit: £1.56 of every £100Profit £1.56Pret A MangerYear to Jan 2026£705m turnoverPayroll: £34.24 of every £100Payroll£34.24Financing: £3.24 of every £100Other costs: £76.10 of every £100Other costs£76.10Loss (the costs beyond £100): £13.59 of every £100Loss £13.59LeonYear to Dec 2024£62m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Pret A Manger (£705m), Leon (£62m).

By headcount, Pret A Manger leads with 6,455 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Pret A Manger to Jan 2026, Leon to Dec 2024. All are on the same filing basis.

Pret A Manger£705mLeon£62m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Leon grew fastest, turnover -3.8% on its own prior year, ahead of Pret A Manger (-4.1%).

Leon-3.8%Pret A Manger-4.1%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Pret A Manger employs the most, 6,455 people, against 1,120 at Leon.

Pret A Manger has the highest average staff cost, about £30,000 a head; Leon the lowest, about £19,000.

Pret A Manger brings in the most turnover per employee, about £109,000, against £56,000 at Leon. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasurePret A MangerLeon
Registered namePRET A MANGER (EUROPE) LIMITEDLEON RESTAURANTS LIMITED
Company number0185421305018441
Incorporated19842004
Accounts filed21 June 202616 September 2025
Turnover, prior year£735m£65m
Pre-tax profit, prior year-£82m-£20m
Staff costs£192m£21m
Payroll share of turnover27.3%34.2%
Employees, prior year7,1261,344
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding212

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Pret A Manger v Leon: common questions

Who is the biggest of Pret A Manger or Leon?

Pret A Manger, with turnover of £705m in the year to January 2026.

Which makes the most profit?

Pret A Manger: £11m pre-tax in the year to January 2026.

Which employs the most people?

Pret A Manger, with 6,455 employees in its latest accounts.

Pret A Manger or Leon: which is bigger?

Pret A Manger, with turnover of £705m against £62m at Leon on their latest filings. On margin, Pret A Manger keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.