VS Series

Claridge's v The Savoy

Mayfair against the Strand: two legendary hotels compared

Claridge's leads on 5 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Claridge's is the biggest by turnover at £137m, against £60m at The Savoy. Both lost money; Claridge's lost the least, £3.98 of every £100 it took.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.

Accounts compared: Claridge's to Dec 2024 · The Savoy to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Claridge'sClaridges Hotel Limited £137m +14.7% -£5m -4.0% 832 £41,000 £165,000 £191m £14m Dec 2024 n/d
2 The SavoyThe Savoy Hotel Limited £60m -5.5% -£20m -32.8% n/d n/d n/d -£130m £9m Dec 2024 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Claridge's loses the least. Of every £100 it takes, it loses £3.98, against a loss of £32.83 at The Savoy.
  2. Claridge's is the largest on the top line, £137m of turnover, 2.3x The Savoy's £60m.
  3. Claridge's is growing fastest, turnover +14.7% on its own prior year. The Savoy went backwards.
  4. Claridge's is the biggest employer with 832 people; Claridge's pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £41,000.
  5. Claridge's has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £191m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Every company here made a loss. Claridge's lost the least, £3.98 of every £100 of turnover. The Savoy does worst, losing £32.83.

Financing bites hardest at The Savoy: £43.53 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £24.67 of every £100Payroll£24.67Financing: £23.33 of every £100Financing£23.33Other costs: £55.98 of every £100Other costs£55.98Loss (the costs beyond £100): £3.98 of every £100Loss £3.98Claridge'sYear to Dec 2024£137m turnoverPayroll: £33.08 of every £100Payroll£33.08Financing: £43.53 of every £100Financing£43.53Other costs: £56.23 of every £100Other costs£56.23Loss (the costs beyond £100): £32.83 of every £100Loss £32.83The SavoyYear to Dec 2024£60m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Claridge's (£137m), The Savoy (£60m).

By headcount, Claridge's leads with 832 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. All are on the same filing basis.

Claridge's£137mThe Savoy£60m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Claridge's grew fastest, turnover +14.7% on its own prior year, ahead of The Savoy (-5.5%).

Claridge's+14.7%The Savoy-5.5%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Claridge's employs the most, 832 people.

Claridge's has the highest average staff cost, about £41,000 a head.

Claridge's brings in the most turnover per employee, about £165,000. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureClaridge'sThe Savoy
Registered nameCLARIDGES HOTEL LIMITEDTHE SAVOY HOTEL LIMITED
Company number0002902203669255
Incorporated18891998
Accounts filed3 October 202510 October 2025
Turnover, prior year£119m£63m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£7m-£18m
Staff costs£34m£20m
Payroll share of turnover24.7%33.1%
Employees, prior year807500
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding33

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Claridge's v The Savoy: common questions

Who is the biggest of Claridge's or The Savoy?

Claridge's, with turnover of £137m in the year to December 2024.

Which makes the most profit?

Claridge's: the smallest loss, -£5m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.

Which employs the most people?

Claridge's, with 832 employees in its latest accounts.

Claridge's or The Savoy: which is bigger?

Claridge's, with turnover of £137m against £60m at The Savoy on their latest filings. On margin, Claridge's keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.