VS Series

Barclays Bank v HSBC Bank

Two of the UK's biggest banks, side by side on the books

Barclays Bank leads on 5 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Barclays Bank is the biggest by turnover at £40,368m, against £23,379m at HSBC Bank. Barclays Bank keeps more of every £100 it takes, £14.72 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.

Accounts compared: Barclays Bank to Dec 2025 · HSBC Bank to Dec 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Barclays BankBarclays Bank PLC £40,368m -2.2% £5,943m 14.7% n/d n/d n/d £62,313m £333,063m Dec 2025 Group
2 HSBC BankHSBC Bank PLC £23,379m -14.6% -£119m -0.5% 10,210 £194,000 £2.3m £25,801m £101,443m Dec 2025 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Barclays Bank converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £14.72 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £0.51 at HSBC Bank.
  2. Barclays Bank is the largest on the top line, £40,368m of turnover, 1.7x HSBC Bank's £23,379m.
  3. Barclays Bank is growing fastest, turnover -2.2% on its own prior year. Barclays Bank and HSBC Bank went backwards.
  4. HSBC Bank is the biggest employer with 10,210 people; HSBC Bank pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £194,000.
  5. Barclays Bank has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £62,313m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Barclays Bank keeps the most: £14.72 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. HSBC Bank does worst, losing £0.51.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £13.84 of every £100Payroll£13.84Other costs: £71.44 of every £100Other costs£71.44Profit: £14.72 of every £100Profit £14.72Barclays BankYear to Dec 2025£40,368m turnoverPayroll: £8.48 of every £100£8.48Other costs: £92.03 of every £100Other costs£92.03Loss (the costs beyond £100): £0.51 of every £100Loss £0.51HSBC BankYear to Dec 2025£23,379m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Barclays Bank (£40,368m), HSBC Bank (£23,379m).

By headcount, HSBC Bank leads with 10,210 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. All are on the same filing basis.

Barclays Bank£40,368mHSBC Bank£23,379m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Barclays Bank grew fastest, turnover -2.2% on its own prior year, ahead of HSBC Bank (-14.6%).

Barclays Bank-2.2%HSBC Bank-14.6%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

HSBC Bank employs the most, 10,210 people.

HSBC Bank has the highest average staff cost, about £194,000 a head.

HSBC Bank brings in the most turnover per employee, about £2.3m. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureBarclays BankHSBC Bank
Registered nameBARCLAYS BANK PLCHSBC BANK PLC
Company number0102616700014259
Incorporated19711880
Accounts filed2 June 202618 May 2026
Turnover, prior year£41,287m£27,385m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£4,747m£2,068m
Staff costs£5,585m£1,983m
Payroll share of turnover13.8%8.5%
Employees, prior year23,40011,456
Dividends paid£2,602m£1,951m
Charges outstanding6934

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Barclays Bank v HSBC Bank: common questions

Who is the biggest of Barclays Bank or HSBC Bank?

Barclays Bank, with turnover of £40,368m in the year to December 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Barclays Bank: £5,943m pre-tax in the year to December 2025.

Which employs the most people?

HSBC Bank, with 10,210 employees in its latest accounts.

Barclays Bank or HSBC Bank: which is bigger?

Barclays Bank, with turnover of £40,368m against £23,379m at HSBC Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Barclays Bank keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.