HSBC Bank: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
HSBC Bank PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Hsbc Holdings Plc. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to December 2025 HSBC Bank PLC reported turnover of £23,379m.
- Registered name
- HSBC BANK PLC
- Company number
- 00014259
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 1 July 1880
- Registered office area
- East London
- Industry code on the register
- 64191: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 18 May 2026
What does HSBC Bank do?
HSBC Bank plc is HSBC's non-ring-fenced bank in the UK, serving large companies, institutions and governments rather than high-street customers, whose accounts sit with the separate HSBC UK Bank. It provides corporate lending, trade finance, cash management, markets and investment banking, and runs much of the group's business in Europe. It makes money from interest margins, fees and trading. It is part of HSBC Holdings, which is listed in London and Hong Kong.
In brief: corporate and investment bank · non-ring-fenced · part of HSBC group
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: hsbc.co.uk.
Who owns HSBC Bank?
The Companies House register records Hsbc Holdings Plc as the person with significant control of HSBC Bank PLC, company number 00014259. Hsbc Holdings Plc is itself company number 00617987. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 21 June 2021.
That places HSBC Bank PLC inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs HSBC Bank?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for HSBC Bank PLC.
All 12 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Andrew Merlay Wright | 17 May 2018 |
| Juliet Ann Ellis | 1 February 2021 |
| Patrick Andrew Clackson | 1 September 2022 |
| Lewis John O'Donald | 23 February 2023 |
| Kathryn Leslie Gurney | 1 March 2023 |
| Michael Murray Roberts | 1 January 2025 |
| Deirdre Hannigan | 1 March 2025 |
| Mr. Micheal McDermott | 13 June 2025 |
| Ms. Euleen Yiu Kiang Goh | 1 December 2025 |
| Ms. Eileen K Murray | 1 March 2026 |
| Mr. Michiel Gerrit Jan De Jong | 1 March 2026 |
| Ms. Sonya Judith Clara Branch | 1 March 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did HSBC Bank file?
HSBC Bank PLC reported turnover of £23,379m in the year to December 2025. That was down 14.6% on £27,385m the year before.
It reported 10,210 employees. The year before it reported 11,456.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £119m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £2,068m the year before.
Staff costs came to £1,983m. That is an average of £194,000 a head. It ended the year with £101,443m at the bank and net assets of £25,801m. It paid dividends of £1,951m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £23,379m | £27,385m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£119m (filed) | £2,068m (filed) |
| Employees | 10,210 | 11,456 |
| Staff costs | £1,983m | £1,672m |
| Average staff cost per head | £194,000 | £146,000 |
| Bank and cash | £101,443m | £119,184m |
| Net assets | £25,801m | £26,895m |
| Dividends paid | £1,951m | |
| Directors' pay | £13m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against HSBC Bank?
HSBC Bank PLC has registered 36 charges at Companies House, of which 34 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 34 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The Bank of New York Mellon | 5 May 2026 |
| Chesham Finance Limited | 1 April 2026 |
| Lion Bay Funding Dac | 26 February 2026 |
| Mizrahi Tefahot Bank LTD. | 1 April 2025 |
| Citadel Securities Principal Strategies Llc | 1 October 2024 |
| Citadel Securities (Asia) Ii Pte. Limited | 12 July 2024 |
| Future Fund Board of Guardians Acting in Connection with the Medical Research Future Fund (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 26 June 2024 |
| Citadel Multi-Asset (Ireland) Designated Activity Company | 28 February 2024 |
| Citadel Quantitative Strategies Master Fund LTD. | 29 November 2023 |
| Citadel Multi-Strategy Equities (Ireland) Designated Activity Company | 3 November 2023 |
| Citadel Futures Clearing Llc | 17 May 2023 |
| Citadel Qsmf China LTD. | 17 May 2023 |
| Hbk Master Fund L.P. | 7 November 2022 |
| Citadel Multi-Strategy Equities Master Fund LTD. | 30 August 2022 |
| Citadel Securities (Europe) Limited | 30 August 2022 |
| Citadel Energy Investments LTD. | 30 August 2022 |
| Citadel Equity Fund LTD. | 30 August 2022 |
| Competrol International Investments Private Limited | 4 August 2022 |
| Citadel Global Fixed Income Master Fund LTD. | 13 July 2022 |
| The Bank of New York Mellon | 29 December 2021 |
| Itau Bba International PLC | 22 September 2021 |
| Future Fund Board of Guardians (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 10 September 2021 |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank, Limited | 2 September 2021 |
| Element Capital Master Fund Limited | 19 August 2021 |
| The Bank of New York Mellon, London Branch | 24 February 2020 |
| Eurex Clearing Aktiengesellschaft | 12 December 2019 |
| The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee for the Security Beneficiaries | 19 June 2019 |
| Lme Clear Limited | 19 June 2019 |
| Lme Clear Limited | 19 June 2019 |
| The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee | 13 March 2019 |
| The Bank of New York Mellon | 19 June 2018 |
| The Bank of New York Mellon,Operating Through Its London Branch | 24 April 2018 |
| Lch Limited (Formerly Known as Lch.Clearnet Limited) (the “Clearing House”) | 15 September 2017 |
| Lch Limited (Formerly Known as Lch.Clearnet Limited) (the “Clearing House”) | 15 September 2017 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How HSBC Bank compares
HSBC Bank files as HSBC Bank PLC, whose person with significant control is Hsbc Holdings Plc, with turnover of £23,379m in its latest filed year.
Questions about HSBC Bank
What does HSBC Bank do?
HSBC Bank plc is HSBC's non-ring-fenced bank in the UK, serving large companies, institutions and governments rather than high-street customers, whose accounts sit with the separate HSBC UK Bank. It provides corporate lending, trade finance, cash management, markets and investment banking, and runs much of the group's business in Europe. It makes money from interest margins, fees and trading. It is part of HSBC Holdings, which is listed in London and Hong Kong.
Who owns HSBC Bank?
The Companies House register records Hsbc Holdings Plc as the person with significant control of HSBC Bank PLC. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.
How much does HSBC Bank make?
HSBC Bank PLC reported turnover of £23,379m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £119m.
How many people work at HSBC Bank?
HSBC Bank PLC reported 10,210 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs HSBC Bank?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for HSBC Bank PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from HSBC Bank PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00014259, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “HSBC Bank: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/hsbc-bank/. Figures from Companies House filings for HSBC BANK PLC (00014259).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Barclays Bank v HSBC Bank: which is bigger on the accounts?
Read →Company profile
Barclays Bank: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Revolut: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Monzo: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks