Yorkshire Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Yorkshire Water Services Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Yorkshire Water Services Holdings Limited. In the year to March 2026 Yorkshire Water Services Limited reported turnover of £1,640m.
- Registered name
- YORKSHIRE WATER SERVICES LIMITED
- Company number
- 02366682
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 1 April 1989
- Registered office area
- Bradford
- Industry code on the register
- 36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2026, filed 2 September 2026
What does Yorkshire Water do?
Yorkshire Water provides water supply and sewerage services to homes and businesses across Yorkshire. It earns money from customer bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat, and looks after reservoirs, treatment works and large areas of moorland and farmland. The company is based in Bradford and is owned by Kelda Group, which is privately held by a group of infrastructure investors.
In brief: water and sewerage · Yorkshire · Ofwat-regulated bills · owned by Kelda Group
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: yorkshirewater.com.
Who owns Yorkshire Water?
The Companies House register records Yorkshire Water Services Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Yorkshire Water Services Limited, company number 02366682. Yorkshire Water Services Holdings Limited is itself company number 06815156.
That places Yorkshire Water Services Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Yorkshire Water?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Yorkshire Water Services Limited.
All 12 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Andrew James Dench | 13 September 2017 |
| Katharine Olivia Helen Smith | 22 August 2018 |
| Andrew David Merrick | 1 June 2019 |
| Vanda Murray | 1 July 2021 |
| Lucy Nicola Shaw | 9 May 2022 |
| Furqan Alamgir | 1 October 2024 |
| Martin Anthony Gee | 6 May 2025 |
| Kamal Abi-Salloum | 3 July 2025 |
| Kunal Mehul Koya | 17 June 2026 |
| Jonathan James Muschamp Lewis | 28 July 2026 |
| Basil Scarsella | 7 August 2026 |
| Dr Anthony John Ballance | 14 August 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Yorkshire Water file?
Yorkshire Water Services Limited reported turnover of £1,640m in the year to March 2026. That was up 26.2% on £1,299m the year before.
It reported 4,481 employees. The year before it reported 3,876.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £114m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £430m the year before.
Staff costs came to £274m. That is an average of £61,000 a head. It ended the year with £571m at the bank and net assets of £1,361m. It paid dividends of £85m.
| Measure | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £1,640m | £1,299m |
| Pre-tax profit | £114m (filed) | £430m (filed) |
| Employees | 4,481 | 3,876 |
| Staff costs | £274m | £219m |
| Average staff cost per head | £61,000 | £57,000 |
| Bank and cash | £571m | £491m |
| Net assets | £1,361m | £1,474m |
| Dividends paid | £85m | £53m |
| Interest paid | £383m | |
| Interest received | £131m | |
| Directors' pay | £2m |
Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Yorkshire Water?
Yorkshire Water Services Limited has registered 5 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The Security Trustee (The Security Trustee) for the Time Being Deutsche Trustee Company Limited for Itself and Each of the Secured Creditors | 30 July 2009 |
| The Security Trustee (The Security Trustee) for the Time Being Deutsche Trustee Company Limited for Itself and Each of the Secured Creditors | 30 July 2009 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Yorkshire Water files as Yorkshire Water Services Limited, whose person with significant control is Yorkshire Water Services Holdings Limited, with turnover of £1,640m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Yorkshire Water
What does Yorkshire Water do?
Yorkshire Water provides water supply and sewerage services to homes and businesses across Yorkshire. It earns money from customer bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat, and looks after reservoirs, treatment works and large areas of moorland and farmland. The company is based in Bradford and is owned by Kelda Group, which is privately held by a group of infrastructure investors.
Who owns Yorkshire Water?
The Companies House register records Yorkshire Water Services Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Yorkshire Water Services Limited.
How much does Yorkshire Water make?
Yorkshire Water Services Limited reported turnover of £1,640m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £114m.
How many people work at Yorkshire Water?
Yorkshire Water Services Limited reported 4,481 employees in the year to March 2026.
Who runs Yorkshire Water?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Yorkshire Water Services Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Yorkshire Water Services Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366682, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Yorkshire Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/yorkshire-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for YORKSHIRE WATER SERVICES LIMITED (02366682).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the water companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Thames Water: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
United Utilities: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Severn Trent: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks