Accounts to March 2026 · Group accounts · Filed August 2026

Severn Trent: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Severn Trent Water Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Severn Trent Draycote Limited. In the year to March 2026 Severn Trent Water Limited reported turnover of £2,588m.

£2,588m
Turnover, up 16.9%
£589m
Pre-tax profit
9,805
Employees
Registered name
SEVERN TRENT WATER LIMITED
Company number
02366686
Status
Active
Incorporated
1 April 1989
Registered office area
Coventry
Industry code on the register
36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 10 August 2026

What does Severn Trent do?

Severn Trent Water supplies drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for homes and businesses across the Midlands. It makes its money from water and sewerage bills, with prices, investment and performance targets set by the regulator Ofwat over five-year periods. It is owned by Severn Trent Plc, whose group also includes Hafren Dyfrdwy, which serves customers in parts of Wales, and businesses in renewable energy and water services.

In brief: water and wastewater · regulated bills · Midlands · owned by Severn Trent Plc

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: stwater.co.uk.

Who owns Severn Trent?

Severn Trent Water Limited
Severn Trent · company 02366686
Severn Trent Draycote Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Severn Trent Draycote Limited as the person with significant control of Severn Trent Water Limited, company number 02366686. Severn Trent Draycote Limited is itself company number 07681784.

That places Severn Trent Water Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Severn Trent?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Severn Trent Water Limited.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Christine Mary Hodgson1 January 2020
Sharmila Nebhrajani1 May 2020
Thomas Auguste Read Delay1 January 2022
Sarah Catherine Legg1 November 2022
Helen Marie Miles1 April 2023
Richard Mark Taylor1 April 2024
Anthony Nicholas Seymour Hampton4 April 2025
Didar Singh Dhillon14 August 2025
James John Jesic1 January 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Severn Trent file?

Severn Trent Water Limited reported turnover of £2,588m in the year to March 2026. That was up 16.9% on £2,214m the year before.

It reported 9,805 employees. The year before it reported 8,763.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £589m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £398m the year before.

Staff costs came to £606m. That is an average of £62,000 a head. It ended the year with £758m at the bank and net assets of £3,308m. It paid dividends of £150m.

Mar 2026£23.42£16.92£36.90£22.76£22.76 profit
Mar 2025£22.68£59.36£17.96£17.96 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£2,588m£2,214m
Pre-tax profit£589m (filed)£398m (filed)
Employees9,8058,763
Staff costs£606m£502m
Average staff cost per head£62,000£57,000
Bank and cash£758m£683m
Net assets£3,308m£2,996m
Dividends paid£150m£192m
Interest paid£438m
Interest received£142m
Directors' pay£3m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

How Severn Trent compares

Severn Trent files as Severn Trent Water Limited, whose person with significant control is Severn Trent Draycote Limited, with turnover of £2,588m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Severn Trent

What does Severn Trent do?

Severn Trent Water supplies drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for homes and businesses across the Midlands. It makes its money from water and sewerage bills, with prices, investment and performance targets set by the regulator Ofwat over five-year periods. It is owned by Severn Trent Plc, whose group also includes Hafren Dyfrdwy, which serves customers in parts of Wales, and businesses in renewable energy and water services.

Who owns Severn Trent?

The Companies House register records Severn Trent Draycote Limited as the person with significant control of Severn Trent Water Limited.

How much does Severn Trent make?

Severn Trent Water Limited reported turnover of £2,588m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £589m.

How many people work at Severn Trent?

Severn Trent Water Limited reported 9,805 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Severn Trent?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Severn Trent Water Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Severn Trent Water Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366686, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Severn Trent: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/severn-trent/. Figures from Companies House filings for SEVERN TRENT WATER LIMITED (02366686).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings