Thames Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Thames Water Utilities Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Thames Water Utilities Holdings Limited. In the year to March 2026 Thames Water Utilities Limited reported turnover of £3,757m.
- Registered name
- THAMES WATER UTILITIES LIMITED
- Company number
- 02366661
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 1 April 1989
- Registered office area
- Reading
- Industry code on the register
- 36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2026, filed 3 September 2026
What does Thames Water do?
Thames Water is the water and wastewater company for London and the Thames Valley, supplying drinking water and collecting and treating sewage. It makes money from customer water and sewerage bills, which are set within price limits regulated by Ofwat, the water regulator for England and Wales. As a regional monopoly, customers cannot choose another household water supplier. It became a private company when the water industry in England and Wales was privatised in 1989.
In brief: water and wastewater · London and Thames Valley · regulated bills · privatised 1989
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: thameswater.co.uk.
Who owns Thames Water?
The Companies House register records Thames Water Utilities Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Thames Water Utilities Limited, company number 02366661. Thames Water Utilities Holdings Limited is itself company number 06195202.
That places Thames Water Utilities Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Thames Water?
The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Thames Water Utilities Limited.
All 13 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Ian Phares Pearson | 1 September 2014 |
| Nicholas Charles Edward Land | 6 February 2017 |
| Ms. Catherine Susan Lynn | 28 November 2018 |
| Sir Adrian Alastair Montague | 10 July 2023 |
| Christopher Phillip Anthony Weston | 8 January 2024 |
| Andrew Fraiser | 27 March 2024 |
| Aidan Whiteman De Brunner | 1 September 2024 |
| Neil Jonathan Robson | 2 October 2024 |
| Julian Gething | 22 January 2025 |
| Adam Banks | 28 March 2025 |
| Andrew James McNaughton | 28 March 2025 |
| Nirmal Dhirajlal Kotecha | 28 March 2025 |
| Steven John Buck | 7 April 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Thames Water file?
Thames Water Utilities Limited reported turnover of £3,757m in the year to March 2026. That was up 37.2% on £2,738m the year before.
It reported 8,472 employees. The year before it reported 7,824.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £226m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1,647m the year before.
Staff costs came to £605m. That is an average of £71,000 a head. It ended the year with £557m at the bank and net assets of £342m.
| Measure | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £3,757m | £2,738m |
| Pre-tax profit | £226m (filed) | -£1,647m (filed) |
| Employees | 8,472 | 7,824 |
| Staff costs | £605m | £513m |
| Average staff cost per head | £71,000 | £66,000 |
| Bank and cash | £557m | £306m |
| Net assets | £342m | £283m |
| Interest paid | £832m | |
| Interest received | £147m | |
| Directors' pay | £5m |
Read the accounts to March 2026 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing
Are there any charges against Thames Water?
Thames Water Utilities Limited has registered 8 charges at Companies House, of which 7 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 7 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Kroll Trustee Services Limited (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 15 September 2026 |
| Kroll Trustee Services Limited (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 18 March 2026 |
| Deutsche Trustee Company Limited (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 6 March 2025 |
| Deutsche Trustee Company Limited (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 3 March 2025 |
| Kroll Trustee Services Limited (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 3 March 2025 |
| The Security Trustee (The Security Trustee), for the Time Being, Deutsche Trustee Companylimited, for Itself and Each of the Secured Creditors | 10 September 2007 |
| Deutsche Trustee Company Limited for Itself and Each of the Secured Creditors (Security Trustee) | 10 September 2007 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How Thames Water compares
Thames Water files as Thames Water Utilities Limited, whose person with significant control is Thames Water Utilities Holdings Limited, with turnover of £3,757m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Thames Water
What does Thames Water do?
Thames Water is the water and wastewater company for London and the Thames Valley, supplying drinking water and collecting and treating sewage. It makes money from customer water and sewerage bills, which are set within price limits regulated by Ofwat, the water regulator for England and Wales. As a regional monopoly, customers cannot choose another household water supplier. It became a private company when the water industry in England and Wales was privatised in 1989.
Who owns Thames Water?
The Companies House register records Thames Water Utilities Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Thames Water Utilities Limited.
How much does Thames Water make?
Thames Water Utilities Limited reported turnover of £3,757m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £226m.
How many people work at Thames Water?
Thames Water Utilities Limited reported 8,472 employees in the year to March 2026.
Who runs Thames Water?
The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Thames Water Utilities Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Thames Water Utilities Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366661, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Thames Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/thames-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for THAMES WATER UTILITIES LIMITED (02366661).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Thames Water v Severn Trent: the numbers behind the rivalry
Read →Battle
The battle of the water companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
United Utilities: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Severn Trent: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Anglian Water: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series