Wincanton: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Wincanton Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Gxo Logistics, Inc.. In the year to December 2025 Wincanton Limited reported turnover of £1,581m.
- Registered name
- WINCANTON LIMITED
- Company number
- 04178808
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 13 March 2001
- Registered office area
- Swindon
- Industry code on the register
- 49410: Land transport and transport via pipelines
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 10 August 2026
What does Wincanton do?
Wincanton is a supply chain and logistics company that runs warehousing, transport and related services for other businesses. It takes its name from the town of Wincanton in Somerset. Its customers include retailers, grocery and consumer goods companies, and public sector and infrastructure clients, usually on multi-year contracts. It uses technology, robotics and automation alongside its own staff and vehicles. Its website states that Wincanton is now part of GXO.
In brief: contract logistics · warehousing and transport · multi-year business contracts · now part of GXO
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: wincanton.co.uk.
Who owns Wincanton?
The Companies House register records Gxo Logistics, Inc. as the person with significant control of Wincanton Limited, company number 04178808. Gxo Logistics, Inc. is itself company number 05114412.
That places Wincanton Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Wincanton?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Wincanton Limited.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Paul Andrew Durkin | 1 May 2025 |
| James Edward Gill | 1 October 2025 |
| Gavin Glen Williams | 1 October 2025 |
| Stuart Robert Macgregor | 30 January 2026 |
| Stuart Robert Macgregor | 22 May 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Wincanton file?
Wincanton Limited reported turnover of £1,581m in the year to December 2025. That was up 35.0% on £1,171m the year before.
It reported 19,218 employees. The year before it reported 19,453.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £79m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £88m the year before.
Staff costs came to £870m. That is an average of £45,000 a head. It ended the year with £29m at the bank and net assets of -£43m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £1,581m | £1,171m |
| Pre-tax profit | £79m (filed) | -£88m (filed) |
| Employees | 19,218 | 19,453 |
| Staff costs | £870m | £614m |
| Average staff cost per head | £45,000 | £32,000 |
| Bank and cash | £29m | £27m |
| Net assets | -£43m | -£96m |
| Interest paid | £20m | |
| Interest received | £6m | |
| Directors' pay | £3m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Wincanton files as Wincanton Limited, whose person with significant control is Gxo Logistics, Inc., with turnover of £1,581m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Wincanton
What does Wincanton do?
Wincanton is a supply chain and logistics company that runs warehousing, transport and related services for other businesses. It takes its name from the town of Wincanton in Somerset. Its customers include retailers, grocery and consumer goods companies, and public sector and infrastructure clients, usually on multi-year contracts. It uses technology, robotics and automation alongside its own staff and vehicles. Its website states that Wincanton is now part of GXO.
Who owns Wincanton?
The Companies House register records Gxo Logistics, Inc. as the person with significant control of Wincanton Limited.
How much does Wincanton make?
Wincanton Limited reported turnover of £1,581m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £79m.
How many people work at Wincanton?
Wincanton Limited reported 19,218 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs Wincanton?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Wincanton Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Wincanton Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 04178808, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Wincanton: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/wincanton/. Figures from Companies House filings for WINCANTON LIMITED (04178808).
More from Spark Intel
Company profile
Balfour Beatty: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Barratt Redrow: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Kier: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks