Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed June 2026

Balfour Beatty: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Balfour Beatty PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to December 2025 it reported turnover of £9,489m.

£9,489m
Turnover, up 15.2%
£323m
Pre-tax profit
19,290
Employees
Registered name
BALFOUR BEATTY PLC
Company number
00395826
Status
Active
Incorporated
31 May 1945
Registered office area
East London
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 8 June 2026

What does Balfour Beatty do?

Balfour Beatty is an infrastructure group that builds, maintains and invests in roads, railways, power networks, buildings and other public and private infrastructure. It works in the UK, the US and Hong Kong, mostly for governments, regulated utilities and large private clients. Its business covers construction services, support services such as maintaining power and road networks, and infrastructure investments, where it helps finance and then operate projects. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: infrastructure contractor · construction, support services and investments · UK, US and Hong Kong · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: balfourbeatty.com.

Who owns Balfour Beatty?

Balfour Beatty PLC
Balfour Beatty · company 00395826
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Balfour Beatty PLC, company number 00395826, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Balfour Beatty?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Balfour Beatty PLC.

All 11 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Anne Drinkwater1 December 2018
Lord Allen Of Kensington Charles Lamb Allen13 May 2021
Louise Jane Hardy1 April 2022
Robert James Macleod8 March 2024
Gabrielle Anne Costigan8 March 2024
Rudolph Lister Wynter1 December 2024
Philip David Hoare8 September 2025
Mr. Myles St John Westcott7 May 2026
Sandra Mary Stash13 July 2026
Melody Boone Meyer13 July 2026
Stephen Philip Williams12 September 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Balfour Beatty file?

Balfour Beatty PLC reported turnover of £9,489m in the year to December 2025. That was up 15.2% on £8,234m the year before.

It reported 19,290 employees. The year before it reported 18,568.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £323m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £214m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,664m. That is an average of £86,000 a head. It paid dividends of £64m.

Dec 2025£17.54£78.63£3.40 profit
Dec 2024£19.30£78.10£2.60 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£9,489m£8,234m
Pre-tax profit£323m (filed)£214m (filed)
Employees19,29018,568
Staff costs£1,664m£1,589m
Average staff cost per head£86,000£86,000
Bank and cashn/d£1,558m
Net assets£1,143m£1,121m
Dividends paid£64m£61m
Interest paid£41m
Directors' pay£11m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Balfour Beatty?

Balfour Beatty PLC has registered 8 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Balfour Beatty files as Balfour Beatty PLC, with turnover of £9,489m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Balfour Beatty

What does Balfour Beatty do?

Balfour Beatty is an infrastructure group that builds, maintains and invests in roads, railways, power networks, buildings and other public and private infrastructure. It works in the UK, the US and Hong Kong, mostly for governments, regulated utilities and large private clients. Its business covers construction services, support services such as maintaining power and road networks, and infrastructure investments, where it helps finance and then operate projects. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Balfour Beatty?

Balfour Beatty PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Balfour Beatty make?

Balfour Beatty PLC reported turnover of £9,489m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £323m.

How many people work at Balfour Beatty?

Balfour Beatty PLC reported 19,290 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Balfour Beatty?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Balfour Beatty PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Balfour Beatty PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00395826, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Balfour Beatty: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/balfour-beatty/. Figures from Companies House filings for BALFOUR BEATTY PLC (00395826).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings