Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed August 2025

Welsh Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Dwr Cymru (Holdings) Limited. In the year to March 2025 DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig reported turnover of £916m.

Welsh Water has filed accounts for the year to 31 March 2026 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 March 2025. It will update when they are.

£916m
Turnover, down 0.9%
-£152m
Pre-tax profit
4,047
Employees
Registered name
DWR CYMRU CYFYNGEDIG
Company number
02366777
Status
Active
Incorporated
1 April 1989
Registered office area
Cardiff
Industry code on the register
36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 26 August 2025

What does Welsh Water do?

Welsh Water, or Dŵr Cymru, provides water supply and sewerage services to most of Wales and parts of neighbouring England. It earns money from customer bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat. Unusually, it is owned by Glas Cymru, a company limited by guarantee with no shareholders, so any surplus is kept in the business for customers.

In brief: water and sewerage · Wales · Ofwat-regulated bills · not-for-shareholder ownership

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: dwrcymru.com.

Who owns Welsh Water?

DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig
Welsh Water · company 02366777
Dwr Cymru (Holdings) Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Dwr Cymru (Holdings) Limited as the person with significant control of DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig, company number 02366777. Dwr Cymru (Holdings) Limited is itself company number 03954867.

That places DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Welsh Water?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Debra Bowen Rees1 January 2020
Mrs Jane Carolyn Hanson1 January 2021
Nicola Joanne Foreman6 February 2023
Darren Glyn James1 January 2025
Alison Wilcox1 January 2025
Darren Scott Pope1 January 2025
Sir James David Bevan11 February 2025
Roch Jean Guy Antoine Cheroux5 January 2026
Michael John Jeavons11 June 2026
David James Staziker11 June 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Welsh Water file?

DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig reported turnover of £916m in the year to March 2025. That was down 0.9% on £924m the year before.

It reported 4,047 employees. The year before it reported 3,790.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £152m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £238m the year before.

Staff costs came to £216m. That is an average of £53,000 a head. It ended the year with £620m at the bank and net assets of £1,358m.

Mar 2025£23.60£33.30£59.70£16.60 loss
Mar 2024£20.95£104.78£25.74 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£916m£924m
Pre-tax profit-£152m (filed)-£238m (filed)
Employees4,0473,790
Staff costs£216m£194m
Average staff cost per head£53,000£51,000
Bank and cash£620m£147m
Net assets£1,358m£1,491m
Interest paid£305m
Interest received£98m
Directors' pay£1.6m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Welsh Water?

DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Bankers Trustee Company Limited in Its Capacity as Dcc Security Trustee(As Defined)29 May 2001
Bankers Trustee Company Limited as Dcc Security Trustee21 May 2001

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Welsh Water files as DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig, whose person with significant control is Dwr Cymru (Holdings) Limited, with turnover of £916m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Welsh Water

What does Welsh Water do?

Welsh Water, or Dŵr Cymru, provides water supply and sewerage services to most of Wales and parts of neighbouring England. It earns money from customer bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat. Unusually, it is owned by Glas Cymru, a company limited by guarantee with no shareholders, so any surplus is kept in the business for customers.

Who owns Welsh Water?

The Companies House register records Dwr Cymru (Holdings) Limited as the person with significant control of DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig.

How much does Welsh Water make?

DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig reported turnover of £916m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £152m.

How many people work at Welsh Water?

DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig reported 4,047 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Welsh Water?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from DWR Cymru Cyfyngedig's filings at Companies House, company number 02366777, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Welsh Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/welsh-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for DWR CYMRU CYFYNGEDIG (02366777).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings