Anglian Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Anglian Water Services Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Anglian Water Services Uk Parent Co Limited. In the year to March 2026 Anglian Water Services Limited reported turnover of £2,103m.
- Registered name
- ANGLIAN WATER SERVICES LIMITED
- Company number
- 02366656
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 1 April 1989
- Registered office area
- Peterborough
- Industry code on the register
- 36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2026, filed 1 September 2026
What does Anglian Water do?
Anglian Water supplies drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for homes and businesses across the East of England. It makes its money from water and sewerage bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat over five-year periods. Its region is one of the driest and flattest in the UK, so managing water resources and flood risk is central to its work. It is owned by Anglian Water Group, a consortium of investors.
In brief: water and wastewater · regulated bills · East of England · owned by Anglian Water Group
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: anglianwater.co.uk.
Who owns Anglian Water?
The Companies House register records Anglian Water Services Uk Parent Co Limited as the person with significant control of Anglian Water Services Limited, company number 02366656. Anglian Water Services Uk Parent Co Limited is itself company number 11294507.
That places Anglian Water Services Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Anglian Water?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Anglian Water Services Limited.
All 12 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| John Richard Barry | 23 November 2020 |
| Batiste Thomas Degaris Ogier | 24 November 2021 |
| Paul Morton Alistair Phillips-Davies | 23 November 2022 |
| Albena Simeonova Vassileva | 23 January 2024 |
| Kathryn Louise Durrant | 26 March 2024 |
| Ian Grant Funnell | 2 August 2024 |
| Mark John Thurston | 5 August 2024 |
| Michael Paul Bradley | 28 November 2024 |
| Anthony Oliver Bickerstaff | 3 June 2025 |
| Celia Rosalind Gough | 20 November 2025 |
| Sir Ian Michael Cheshire | 14 July 2026 |
| James Alexander Adam | 1 September 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Anglian Water file?
Anglian Water Services Limited reported turnover of £2,103m in the year to March 2026. That was up 20.2% on £1,749m the year before.
It reported 6,053 employees. The year before it reported 5,874.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £125m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £189m the year before.
Staff costs came to £406m. That is an average of £67,000 a head. It ended the year with £553m at the bank and net assets of £2,593m. It paid dividends of £75m.
| Measure | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £2,103m | £1,749m |
| Pre-tax profit | £125m (filed) | £189m (filed) |
| Employees | 6,053 | 5,874 |
| Staff costs | £406m | £346m |
| Average staff cost per head | £67,000 | £59,000 |
| Bank and cash | £553m | £589m |
| Net assets | £2,593m | £2,402m |
| Dividends paid | £75m | £89m |
| Interest paid | £452m | |
| Interest received | £37m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.9m |
Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Anglian Water?
Anglian Water Services Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 3 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Deutsche Trustee Company Limited | 12 December 2006 |
| Deutsche Trustee Company Limited (As Trustee for Itself and Each of the Secured Creditors) | 20 August 2002 |
| Deutsche Trustee Company Limited (As Security Trustee for Itself and Each of the Other Securedcreditors) | 1 August 2002 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Anglian Water files as Anglian Water Services Limited, whose person with significant control is Anglian Water Services Uk Parent Co Limited, with turnover of £2,103m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Anglian Water
What does Anglian Water do?
Anglian Water supplies drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for homes and businesses across the East of England. It makes its money from water and sewerage bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat over five-year periods. Its region is one of the driest and flattest in the UK, so managing water resources and flood risk is central to its work. It is owned by Anglian Water Group, a consortium of investors.
Who owns Anglian Water?
The Companies House register records Anglian Water Services Uk Parent Co Limited as the person with significant control of Anglian Water Services Limited.
How much does Anglian Water make?
Anglian Water Services Limited reported turnover of £2,103m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £125m.
How many people work at Anglian Water?
Anglian Water Services Limited reported 6,053 employees in the year to March 2026.
Who runs Anglian Water?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Anglian Water Services Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Anglian Water Services Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366656, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Anglian Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/anglian-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for ANGLIAN WATER SERVICES LIMITED (02366656).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the water companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Thames Water: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
United Utilities: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Severn Trent: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks