Accounts to December 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

Superdrug: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Superdrug Stores PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is AS Watson (Health & Beauty UK) Limited. In the year to December 2025 Superdrug Stores PLC reported turnover of £1,720m.

£1,720m
Turnover, up 5.2%
£144m
Pre-tax profit
15,037
Employees
Registered name
SUPERDRUG STORES PLC
Company number
00807043
Status
Active
Incorporated
28 May 1964
Registered office area
Croydon
Industry code on the register
47730: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 5 July 2026

What does Superdrug do?

Superdrug is a health and beauty retailer selling cosmetics, toiletries, fragrance and health products, including a large range under its own brand. It sells through its high street stores, many of which have a pharmacy, and online, where it also offers an online doctor service. Its Health & Beautycard loyalty scheme rewards regular customers. Superdrug is part of A.S. Watson, the retail arm of CK Hutchison.

In brief: health and beauty retailer · own-brand range · in-store pharmacies · part of A.S. Watson

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: superdrug.com.

Who owns Superdrug?

Superdrug Stores PLC
Superdrug · company 00807043
AS Watson (Health & Beauty UK) Limited
Company

The Companies House register records AS Watson (Health & Beauty UK) Limited as the person with significant control of Superdrug Stores PLC, company number 00807043. AS Watson (Health & Beauty UK) Limited is itself company number 04051648.

That places Superdrug Stores PLC inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Superdrug?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Superdrug Stores PLC.

All 6 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Dominic Kai Ming Lai21 October 2002
Edith Shih21 October 2002
Peter William Macnab20 May 2014
Richard Alexander Fleming1 October 2015
Scott John Blakemore11 May 2022
Malina Man Lin Ngai26 August 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Superdrug file?

Superdrug Stores PLC reported turnover of £1,720m in the year to December 2025. That was up 5.2% on £1,634m the year before.

It reported 15,037 employees. The year before it reported 14,479.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £144m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £137m the year before.

Staff costs came to £356m. That is an average of £24,000 a head. It ended the year with £235m at the bank and net assets of £471m. It paid dividends of £75m.

Dec 2025£20.69£69.91£8.38 profit
Dec 2024£19.82£71.81£8.37 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£1,720m£1,634m
Pre-tax profit£144m (filed)£137m (filed)
Employees15,03714,479
Staff costs£356m£324m
Average staff cost per head£24,000£22,000
Bank and cash£235m£201m
Net assets£471m£440m
Dividends paid£75m£45m
Interest paid£18m
Interest received£7m
Directors' pay£4m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

How Superdrug compares

Superdrug files as Superdrug Stores PLC, whose person with significant control is AS Watson (Health & Beauty UK) Limited, with turnover of £1,720m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Superdrug

What does Superdrug do?

Superdrug is a health and beauty retailer selling cosmetics, toiletries, fragrance and health products, including a large range under its own brand. It sells through its high street stores, many of which have a pharmacy, and online, where it also offers an online doctor service. Its Health & Beautycard loyalty scheme rewards regular customers. Superdrug is part of A.S. Watson, the retail arm of CK Hutchison.

Who owns Superdrug?

The Companies House register records AS Watson (Health & Beauty UK) Limited as the person with significant control of Superdrug Stores PLC.

How much does Superdrug make?

Superdrug Stores PLC reported turnover of £1,720m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £144m.

How many people work at Superdrug?

Superdrug Stores PLC reported 15,037 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Superdrug?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Superdrug Stores PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Superdrug Stores PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00807043, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Superdrug: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/superdrug/. Figures from Companies House filings for SUPERDRUG STORES PLC (00807043).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings