Accounts to March 2026 · Group accounts · Filed August 2026

Speedy Hire: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Speedy Hire PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to March 2026 it reported turnover of £416m.

£416m
Turnover, down 0.1%
-£32m
Pre-tax profit
3,318
Employees
Registered name
SPEEDY HIRE PLC
Company number
00927680
Status
Active
Incorporated
22 February 1968
Registered office area
Warrington
Industry code on the register
77390: Rental and leasing activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 13 August 2026

What does Speedy Hire do?

Speedy Hire rents tools, plant and equipment to construction, infrastructure and industrial customers across the UK and Ireland. It earns money from hire charges, with added income from selling consumables, testing, inspection and training services. Customers range from large contractors and utilities to smaller trades, served through a depot network and online. The company is based in Newton-le-Willows, Merseyside, and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: tool and equipment hire · construction and infrastructure · UK and Ireland · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: speedyservices.com.

Who owns Speedy Hire?

Speedy Hire PLC
Speedy Hire · company 00927680
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Speedy Hire PLC, company number 00927680, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Speedy Hire?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Speedy Hire PLC.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
David James Buchanan Shearer9 September 2016
Neil John Hunt30 March 2017
Rhian Helen Bartlett1 June 2019
Shatish Damodar Dasani1 February 2021
Carol Kavanagh1 June 2021
Daniel John Evans1 October 2022
Judith Cottrell1 July 2026
Andrew James McNaughton1 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Speedy Hire file?

Speedy Hire PLC reported turnover of £416m in the year to March 2026. That was down 0.1% on £417m the year before.

It reported 3,318 employees. The year before it reported 3,335.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £32m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1.5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £141m. That is an average of £42,000 a head. It ended the year with £14m at the bank and net assets of £128m. It paid dividends of £12m.

Mar 2026£33.81£69.41£7.76 loss
Mar 2025£32.69£67.67£0.36 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£416m£417m
Pre-tax profit-£32m (filed)-£1.5m (filed)
Employees3,3183,335
Staff costs£141m£136m
Average staff cost per head£42,000£41,000
Bank and cash£14m£2m
Net assets£128m£162m
Dividends paid£12m£12m
Interest paid£19m
Interest received£0.3m
Directors' pay£1.3m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Speedy Hire?

Speedy Hire PLC has registered 27 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Lloyds Bank PLC as Security Agent30 April 2025
Lloyds Bank PLC as Security Agent30 April 2025

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Speedy Hire files as Speedy Hire PLC, with turnover of £416m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Speedy Hire

What does Speedy Hire do?

Speedy Hire rents tools, plant and equipment to construction, infrastructure and industrial customers across the UK and Ireland. It earns money from hire charges, with added income from selling consumables, testing, inspection and training services. Customers range from large contractors and utilities to smaller trades, served through a depot network and online. The company is based in Newton-le-Willows, Merseyside, and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Speedy Hire?

Speedy Hire PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Speedy Hire make?

Speedy Hire PLC reported turnover of £416m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax loss of £32m.

How many people work at Speedy Hire?

Speedy Hire PLC reported 3,318 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Speedy Hire?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Speedy Hire PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Speedy Hire PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00927680, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Speedy Hire: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/speedy-hire/. Figures from Companies House filings for SPEEDY HIRE PLC (00927680).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings