Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

Southern Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Southern Water Services Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Sws Holdings Limited. In the year to March 2025 Southern Water Services Limited reported turnover of £993m.

Southern Water has filed accounts for the year to 31 March 2026 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 March 2025. It will update when they are.

£993m
Turnover, up 12.0%
-£89m
Pre-tax profit
2,741
Employees
Registered name
SOUTHERN WATER SERVICES LIMITED
Company number
02366670
Status
Active
Incorporated
1 April 1989
Registered office area
Brighton
Industry code on the register
36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 9 September 2025

What does Southern Water do?

Southern Water supplies drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for homes and businesses in Kent, Sussex, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. It makes its money from water and sewerage bills, with prices, investment and performance targets set by the regulator Ofwat over five-year periods. In parts of its region it provides only wastewater services, with other companies supplying drinking water.

In brief: water and wastewater · regulated bills · south-east England · Ofwat-regulated

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: southernwater.co.uk.

Who owns Southern Water?

Southern Water Services Limited
Southern Water · company 02366670
Sws Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Sws Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Southern Water Services Limited, company number 02366670. Sws Holdings Limited is itself company number 04324499.

That places Southern Water Services Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Southern Water?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Southern Water Services Limited.

All 11 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Malcolm Charles Cooper23 December 2019
William David George Price8 September 2021
Lawrence Karl Gosden1 July 2022
Stuart Neil Ledger3 January 2023
Professor Kerensa Jane Jennings31 May 2023
Christèle Delbé31 May 2023
Neil Robert Vint Corrigall29 November 2023
Neil Craig McArthur1 October 2024
Andrew Oswell Bede Davies6 May 2026
Sandra Faye Redding22 July 2026
Stephen Glynn Hurrell28 August 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Southern Water file?

Southern Water Services Limited reported turnover of £993m in the year to March 2025. That was up 12.0% on £887m the year before.

It reported 2,741 employees. The year before it reported 2,614.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £89m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £208m the year before.

Staff costs came to £178m. That is an average of £65,000 a head. It ended the year with £557m at the bank and net assets of £871m.

Mar 2025£17.95£33.84£57.22£9.01 loss
Mar 2024£17.91£105.50£23.42 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£993m£887m
Pre-tax profit-£89m (filed)-£208m (filed)
Employees2,7412,614
Staff costs£178m£159m
Average staff cost per head£65,000£61,000
Bank and cash£557m£414m
Net assets£871m£939m
Interest paid£336m
Interest received£92m
Directors' pay£3m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Southern Water?

Southern Water Services Limited has registered 4 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees)12 October 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited as Security Trustee for Itself and Each of the Securedcreditors7 August 2003
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited the Security Trustee (As Trustee for Itself and Each of Thesecured Creditors)6 August 2003

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Southern Water files as Southern Water Services Limited, whose person with significant control is Sws Holdings Limited, with turnover of £993m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Southern Water

What does Southern Water do?

Southern Water supplies drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for homes and businesses in Kent, Sussex, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. It makes its money from water and sewerage bills, with prices, investment and performance targets set by the regulator Ofwat over five-year periods. In parts of its region it provides only wastewater services, with other companies supplying drinking water.

Who owns Southern Water?

The Companies House register records Sws Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Southern Water Services Limited.

How much does Southern Water make?

Southern Water Services Limited reported turnover of £993m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £89m.

How many people work at Southern Water?

Southern Water Services Limited reported 2,741 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Southern Water?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Southern Water Services Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Southern Water Services Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366670, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Southern Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/southern-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for SOUTHERN WATER SERVICES LIMITED (02366670).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings