Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed August 2026

South West Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

South West Water Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Pennon Group Plc. In the year to March 2026 South West Water Limited reported turnover of £939m.

£939m
Turnover, up 27.1%
£125m
Pre-tax profit
2,695
Employees
Registered name
SOUTH WEST WATER LIMITED
Company number
02366665
Status
Active
Incorporated
1 April 1989
Registered office area
Exeter, Exmouth
Industry code on the register
36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 7 August 2026

What does South West Water do?

South West Water provides water supply and sewerage services to homes and businesses in Devon and Cornwall, with parts of Dorset and Somerset. It earns money from customer bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat. The company also runs neighbouring supply areas under brands including Bournemouth Water and Bristol Water. It is based in Exeter and owned by Pennon Group, which is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: water and sewerage · Devon and Cornwall · Ofwat-regulated bills · owned by Pennon

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: southwestwater.co.uk.

Who owns South West Water?

South West Water Limited
South West Water · company 02366665
Pennon Group Plc
Company

The Companies House register records Pennon Group Plc as the person with significant control of South West Water Limited, company number 02366665. Pennon Group Plc is itself company number 02366640.

That places South West Water Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs South West Water?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for South West Water Limited.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Jonathan Butterworth28 September 2017
Loraine Woodhouse1 December 2022
Dorothy Marie Burwell1 December 2022
David Sproul1 July 2024
Laura Flowerdew11 July 2024
Andrea Margaret Blance8 April 2025
Andrew Haines1 November 2025
James Keith Haslett19 May 2026
Emma Louise Hough1 September 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did South West Water file?

South West Water Limited reported turnover of £939m in the year to March 2026. That was up 27.1% on £739m the year before.

It reported 2,695 employees. The year before it reported 2,777.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £125m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £61m the year before.

Staff costs came to £152m. That is an average of £56,000 a head. It ended the year with £250m at the bank and net assets of £1,084m.

Mar 2026£16.21£19.76£50.73£13.30 profit
Mar 2025£20.58£87.70£8.28 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£939m£739m
Pre-tax profit£125m (filed)-£61m (filed)
Employees2,6952,777
Staff costs£152m£152m
Average staff cost per head£56,000£55,000
Bank and cash£250m£327m
Net assets£1,084m£1,193m
Interest paid£186m
Interest received£16m
Directors' pay£1.7m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against South West Water?

South West Water Limited has registered 9 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Societe Generale, London Branch26 November 2015
The Secretary of State for Defence13 July 2000

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

South West Water files as South West Water Limited, whose person with significant control is Pennon Group Plc, with turnover of £939m in its latest filed year.

Questions about South West Water

What does South West Water do?

South West Water provides water supply and sewerage services to homes and businesses in Devon and Cornwall, with parts of Dorset and Somerset. It earns money from customer bills, with prices and investment set by the regulator Ofwat. The company also runs neighbouring supply areas under brands including Bournemouth Water and Bristol Water. It is based in Exeter and owned by Pennon Group, which is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns South West Water?

The Companies House register records Pennon Group Plc as the person with significant control of South West Water Limited.

How much does South West Water make?

South West Water Limited reported turnover of £939m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £125m.

How many people work at South West Water?

South West Water Limited reported 2,695 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs South West Water?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for South West Water Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from South West Water Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366665, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “South West Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/south-west-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for SOUTH WEST WATER LIMITED (02366665).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings