Northumbrian Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Northumbrian Water Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Northumbrian Water Group Limited. In the year to March 2025 Northumbrian Water Limited reported turnover of £1,017m.
- Registered name
- NORTHUMBRIAN WATER LIMITED
- Company number
- 02366703
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 1 April 1989
- Registered office area
- Durham
- Industry code on the register
- 36000: Water collection, treatment and supply
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2025, filed 8 September 2025
What does Northumbrian Water do?
Northumbrian Water is a water and wastewater company serving the North East of England under the Northumbrian Water name, and supplying water in parts of Essex and Suffolk as Essex & Suffolk Water. It makes money from customer water and sewerage bills, set within price limits regulated by Ofwat. Customers cannot choose another household supplier. The company is owned by a group of investors led by CK Infrastructure Holdings, part of the Hong Kong-based CK group.
In brief: water and wastewater · North East, Essex and Suffolk · regulated bills · owned by CKI-led investors
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: nwl.co.uk.
Who owns Northumbrian Water?
The Companies House register records Northumbrian Water Group Limited as the person with significant control of Northumbrian Water Limited, company number 02366703. Northumbrian Water Group Limited is itself company number 04760441.
That places Northumbrian Water Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Northumbrian Water?
The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Northumbrian Water Limited.
All 13 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Heidi Mottram | 1 March 2010 |
| Andrew John Hunter | 14 October 2011 |
| Hing Lam Kam | 14 October 2011 |
| Loi Shun Chan | 14 October 2011 |
| Wai Che Wendy Tong Barnes | 8 October 2012 |
| Richard George Sexton | 14 April 2021 |
| Alan Alexander Bryce | 14 April 2021 |
| Peter David Vicary-Smith | 14 July 2021 |
| Professor Jacqueline Myriam McGlade | 14 July 2021 |
| Richard William Peter Somerville | 8 October 2021 |
| Chiu Ng | 20 May 2024 |
| Thomas Keith Harris | 17 February 2026 |
| Duncan Nicholas Macrae | 18 February 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Northumbrian Water file?
Northumbrian Water Limited reported turnover of £1,017m in the year to March 2025. That was up 10.7% on £919m the year before.
It reported 3,505 employees. The year before it reported 3,270.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £114m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1.2m the year before.
Staff costs came to £182m. That is an average of £52,000 a head. It ended the year with £165m at the bank and net assets of £165m. It paid dividends of £40m.
| Measure | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £1,017m | £919m |
| Pre-tax profit | £114m (filed) | -£1.2m (filed) |
| Employees | 3,505 | 3,270 |
| Staff costs | £182m | £170m |
| Average staff cost per head | £52,000 | £52,000 |
| Bank and cash | £165m | £50m |
| Net assets | £165m | £60m |
| Dividends paid | £40m | £66m |
| Interest paid | £219m | |
| Interest received | £42m | |
| Directors' pay | £1.3m |
Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Northumbrian Water?
Northumbrian Water Limited has registered 2 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
The outstanding charge
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Reiver Finance Limited | 24 May 2004 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Northumbrian Water files as Northumbrian Water Limited, whose person with significant control is Northumbrian Water Group Limited, with turnover of £1,017m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Northumbrian Water
What does Northumbrian Water do?
Northumbrian Water is a water and wastewater company serving the North East of England under the Northumbrian Water name, and supplying water in parts of Essex and Suffolk as Essex & Suffolk Water. It makes money from customer water and sewerage bills, set within price limits regulated by Ofwat. Customers cannot choose another household supplier. The company is owned by a group of investors led by CK Infrastructure Holdings, part of the Hong Kong-based CK group.
Who owns Northumbrian Water?
The Companies House register records Northumbrian Water Group Limited as the person with significant control of Northumbrian Water Limited.
How much does Northumbrian Water make?
Northumbrian Water Limited reported turnover of £1,017m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £114m.
How many people work at Northumbrian Water?
Northumbrian Water Limited reported 3,505 employees in the year to March 2025.
Who runs Northumbrian Water?
The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Northumbrian Water Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Northumbrian Water Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02366703, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Northumbrian Water: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/northumbrian-water/. Figures from Companies House filings for NORTHUMBRIAN WATER LIMITED (02366703).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the water companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Thames Water: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
United Utilities: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Severn Trent: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks