Accounts to January 2026 · Group accounts · Filed June 2026

Next: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Next PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to January 2026 it reported turnover of £6,901m.

£6,901m
Turnover, up 12.8%
£1,193m
Pre-tax profit
31,589
Employees
Registered name
NEXT PLC
Company number
04412362
Status
Active
Incorporated
9 April 2002
Registered office area
Leicester
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 2 June 2026

What does Next do?

Next is a fashion and home retailer, selling its own-brand clothing, footwear and homeware through its shops and website. Its website also sells hundreds of other brands, and it runs the online operations of other fashion brands for a fee. Many customers pay through its own credit account. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: fashion and home retailer · own brand plus other brands online · shops and website · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: nextplc.co.uk.

Who owns Next?

Next PLC
Next · company 04412362
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Next PLC, company number 04412362, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Next?

The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Next PLC.

All 13 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Simon Adam Lord Wolfson Of Aspley Guise9 September 2002
Michael Roney14 February 2017
Richard Simon Vaughan Papp14 May 2018
Tristia Adele Harrison25 September 2018
Thomas Nicholas Hall13 July 2020
Soumen Das1 September 2021
Jeremy Paul Stakol3 April 2023
Amy Stirling2 April 2024
Venetia Butterfield2 April 2024
Jonathan Neil Blanchard26 July 2024
Hannah Woodall-Pagan26 September 2025
Annette Elizabeth Court1 March 2026
Jenifer Mary Mundy1 April 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Next file?

Next PLC reported turnover of £6,901m in the year to January 2026. That was up 12.8% on £6,118m the year before.

It reported 31,589 employees. The year before it reported 50,743.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £1,193m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £987m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,290m. That is an average of £41,000 a head. It ended the year with £96m at the bank and net assets of £1,781m. It paid dividends of £289m.

Jan 2026£18.69£62.62£17.28£17.28 profit
Jan 2025£19.03£64.84£16.13£16.13 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Jan 2025
Turnover£6,901m£6,118m
Pre-tax profit£1,193m (filed)£987m (filed)
Employees31,58950,743
Staff costs£1,290m£1,164m
Average staff cost per head£41,000£23,000
Bank and cash£96m£200m
Net assets£1,781m£1,636m
Dividends paid£289m£258m
Interest paid£97m
Interest received£11m
Directors' pay£23m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Next?

Next PLC has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC4 April 2022

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Next files as Next PLC, with turnover of £6,901m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Next

What does Next do?

Next is a fashion and home retailer, selling its own-brand clothing, footwear and homeware through its shops and website. Its website also sells hundreds of other brands, and it runs the online operations of other fashion brands for a fee. Many customers pay through its own credit account. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Next?

Next PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Next make?

Next PLC reported turnover of £6,901m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1,193m.

How many people work at Next?

Next PLC reported 31,589 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs Next?

The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Next PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Next PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 04412362, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Next: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/next/. Figures from Companies House filings for NEXT PLC (04412362).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings